26.2 C
Tuesday, February 27, 2024

Two more lady solons join Lakas, bringing party strength to 66

- Advertisement -

Two more members of the House of Representatives have joined the Lakas Christian Muslim Democrats (Lakas-CMD), bringing the party’s total membership in the larger chamber of Congress to 66.

Party president Speaker Martin Romualdez on Monday administered the oath to Eastern Samar Rep. Maria Fe Abunda and Calamba City Rep. Charisse Anne Hernandez-Alcantara in simple ceremony at the Social Hall of the Speaker’s Office in the House.

NEW LAKAS MEMBERS. Speaker Martin Romualdez (2nd from left) administers the oath to Eastern Samar Rep. Fe Abunda (right) and Calamba Laguna Rep. Charisse Hernandez (2nd right) as new Lakas-CMD Party members with Lakas President Emeritus and Pampanga Rep. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo (center) and Lakas VP for Mindanao Development Concerns and House Majority Leader Mannix Dalipe (left) as witnesses. Ver Noveno

The event was witnessed by senior Deputy Speaker Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, a former President and Speaker, who is also the president emeritus of Lakas-CMD.

During the same event, Romualdez also administered the oath to Taft Mayor Gina Ty and former Guiuan Mayor Christopher Sheen Gonzales, both from Eastern Samar province, as Lakas-CMD members.

“We are happy that two more colleagues of ours in the House have chosen to join us in Lakas-CMD. We look forward to having a fruitful and pleasant bonding and interaction with them and the rest of our members,” Romualdez said.

- Advertisement -

With a membership of 66 congressmen and congresswomen, Lakas-CMD is now the largest political group in this 19th Congress.

The affiliation of Abunda and Hernandez-Alcantara followed last month’s membership in the party of Representatives Isidro Ungab and Vincent Garcia of the third and second districts of Davao City, respectively; Alan Dujali of Davao del Norte’s second district, and Josefina Tallado of Camarines Norte’s first district.

Lakas-CMD, an administration party, campaigned hard for President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. and Vice President Sara Duterte, who is the party’s chairperson.

- Advertisement -


Popular Articles