27.9 C
Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Winners named in Villar poverty reduction competition

- Advertisement -

Former Public Works Secretary Mark Villar and Sen. Cynthia Villar led the awarding ceremonies of the winners of the 4th Villar SIPAG Youth Poverty Reduction Challenge

Deputy Speaker Camille Villar and Paolo Villar,  president and CEO of Vista Land were also present.

“We know it is more challenging this year because of the situation we are all in, but you all rose to the occasion despite the challenges. We hope you will continue your winning ways in helping our fellow Filipinos beat poverty,” Sen. Villar told the winners.

Rep. Villar recognized the selfless act of the youth in helping their communities and chosen beneficiaries to get them out of their hardships at this time when self-preservation is the most important thing in this health and economic crisis. 

“This is youth empowerment. You have proven that despite your young age, you can maximize your potential to bring the much-need hope and joy to your communities,” she said.

- Advertisement -

For his part, the former Public Works chief told winners “let this awarding remind you that we believe in you and in the causes of your social enterprises. “

He said the program intends not merely to encourage the youth to engage in business for profit or livelihood.   He also said it goes beyond just lifting you and your family from the cycle of an impoverished life. “This is also about change,” he said.

“Through the deeds and little causes you advocate with your social enterprises, you spark change for the betterment of our society,” Villar said.

The Villar SIPAG Youth Poverty Reduction Challenge is a competition designed to encourage and empower youth organizations to embark on social enterprises that made a significant impact in reducing poverty in their respective communities.

Participants were composed of college students, out-of-school youth, young professionals, and young entrepreneurs among others.

Each organization received a P100,000 cash incentive and the highly coveted Villar SIPAG Award trophy.

This year’s award recipients are: Christian Youth Fellowship -Quezon City, NCR; Tanghalan ng Mandaluyong, Inc. – Mandaluyong City, NCR;   Pinablin 4H Calasiao, Inc. – Calasiao,Pangasinan; Rice-Up Farmers, Inc. -Lubao, Pampanga;   Youth for Mindoro Calapan, Oriental Mindoro; Borres Youth Leadership Institute Inc. – Roxas City, Capiz; Cebuano Youth Ambassadors, Inc. – Cebu City,Cebu; Shadow Arts Theater Organization – Palo, Leyte; Vitali 4-H Club -Vitali, Zamboanga City; Youth Cooperative for Ecological Protection -Nazareth, Cagayan de Oro City; Peace Creed Philippines – Midsayap,North Cotabato and E-Agrikultura Farmers Organization, Inc. – Butuan City, CARAGA./ macon ramos-aranet

- Advertisement -


Popular Articles