28.2 C
Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Atayde to AFP: Inspire youth by showing love of country

QUEZON CITY First District Rep. Juan Carlos “Arjo” Atayde praised awardees of the inaugural “Tribute to Soldiers” on National Heroes Day and urged members of the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) to continue being an inspiration to the youth with their service to the nation.

At the event held at the Manila Hotel, Atayde told servicemen “you are all an inspiration; you have provided the nation with different services most of the time. And we do believe in your service.”

“Thank you,” added Atayde, “for the sacrifices and thank you for the love.”

The freshman lawmaker, a guest of honor and presenter at the event, encouraged men in uniform to continuously inspire the youth by consistently fostering camaraderie among their ranks, and explained that being proficient in gunfights or constantly heading into battle should not solely define being a good soldier.

“I am hoping our youth will receive the opportunities to be inspired not to think that defending is all about war. It’s about camaraderie and our love for our country,” explained the legislator-actor.

At the event with Atayde were Vice President Sara Duterte-Carpio, AFP Chief of Staff General Romeo Brawner Jr., and other distinguished guests.

Atayde is a member of the House Committee on Ways and Means and has expressed support for reforms in the Military and Uniformed Personnel (MUP) pension system to provide Filipino soldiers and their respective families a better and brighter future.

“We, Filipinos, are very proud and fortunate to have dedicated soldiers like you,” he said.

One military unit and 10 AFP personnel were honored at the “Tribute to Soldiers,” which was organized to raise public awareness of the extraordinary and everyday heroism as well as the sacrifices of Filipino soldiers.

Awarded for their Contribution to the Combat Zone were SSg Daryl B Gacad PAF, Sgt William B Tello Jr  (MI) PA, and S2IT Jaime V Caguioa Jr PN.

For Innovation in Administrative and Logistics Functions, the awardees were TSg Bernard L Magpantay  PAF,  SSg Roseller D Gozo  (SC) PA, and DP2 Dizon G Vallesteros PN.

For Outstanding Community Service, TSg Liezel A Eranista  PAF, Sgt Ephraim B Mission Jr  (INF) PA, and SSgt Michael S Rayanon  PN (M) were awarded; YN2 Lilane I Muring PN was awarded for her Achievement in Education; and Tactical Operations Group 7 of the Philippine Air Force was awarded as the Best Unit.

- Advertisement -


Popular Articles