Mustaza elected APUSU president

Malaysia's Universiti Teknologi MARA Sports Director Mustaza Ahmad, who is retiring in September, was elected President of the Asia Pacific University Sports Union via an online Zoom meet held on May 27, 2021.

APUSU’s Mustaza Ahmad (left), with then president Tai Lian and VP Baldomero Estenzo during the inaugural polls in 2016 held in Bangkok.
Mustaza Ahmad, the former Secretary-General of Malaysian University Sports Federation, was overwhelmingly confirmed by the members of the APUSU Executive Committee, led by Dr. Ekodjatmiko Sukarso of Indonesia; Yutaka Misutani of Japan; Prof. Robert Milton Calo of the Philippines; Taschai Sansanapitayakorn from the Kingdom of Thailand; Fujita Masahiro of Japan’s NSSU; Bou Chum Serey of Cambodia; Park Hyun Mo from Korea; Prof. Dr. Abdul Waheed Mughal of Pakistan; Mu Jian of China; Senarath Alwis from Sri Lanka and Leey Sabree of Brunei.

Alvin Tai Lian of the Philippines was given the highest honor as President Emeritus, while Dr. Sukarso, Mizutani, and Sansanapitayakorn were elected as Vice Presidents, respectively.

Graham C. Lim was unanimously elected as the APUSU Secretary-General/ CEO.

Other personages elected to the Executive Committee were Purna Singh Bohara of Nepal and Eugene Chow from Singapore.  

The Committee also named Philippines’ Maria Cecilia Sarmiento as treasurer, replacing  Sansanapitayakorn.

The members of the APUSU Executive Committee for the term 2021-2025 are the following:

President (Malaysia) Prof. Mustaza Ahmad; President Emeritus (Philippines) AlvinTai Lian; Vice President (Indonesia) Dr. Ekodjatmiko Sukarso; Vice President (Japan) Misutani Yutaka; Vice President (Thailand) Taschai Sansanapitayakorn; Secretary General/CEO (United Nations) Graham C. Lim; Treasurer (Philippines) Maria Cecilia Sarmiento; and Executive Members (Korea) Park Hyun Mo; (Philippines) Prof. Robert Milton A. Calo (Brunei) Leey Sabree; (Japan) Fujita Masahiro; (Cambodia) Bou Chum Serey; (Pakistan) Prof. Dr. Abdul Waheed Mughal; (China) Mu Jian; (Sri Lanka) Senarath Alwis; (Nepal)Purna Singh Bohara and (Singapore) Eugene Chow.

The Induction of the APUSU Officers will be held at the Ministry of Sports in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, in late November or early December this year, when the restrictions brought about by the Covid-19 pandemic are lifted by the proper authority.

The APUSU was founded in 2015, headquarters is located at the Universiti Teknologi MARA, 40450 Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia.

Topics: Mustaza Ahmad , Asia Pacific University Sports Union , Universiti Teknologi MARA , COVID-19

Related stories:

No related stories matched this topic.

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA