PSC starts Hall of Fame selection

The Philippine Sports Hall of Fame convenes its initial meeting at the Philsports Complex, Tuesday.

The Philippine Sports Hall of Fame 2020 Committee, headed by PSC Chairman William Ramirez and vice-chaired by Philippine Olympic Committee President Abraham Tolentino, is set to discuss the criteria of nomination and selection of candidates for this edition’s enshrinees.  

“We want to get a good lead time since the selection process is an arduous exercise. We have a lot of athletes truly deserving to be enshrined in this Hall of Fame,“ explained Ramirez, adding that “we hope to get more nominations this edition.”

Also attending the meeting are members of the screening body composed of Games and Amusement Board Chairman Abraham Mitra, Philippine Olympic Committee Secretary-General Atty. Edwin Gastanes, Integrated Cycling Federation of the Philippines Secretary-General Atty. Avelino Sumagui, University Athletic Association of the Philippines Executive Director Atty. Rene Saguisag Jr., and SEA Games gold medallist and Philippine Olympians Association President Akiko Thomson Guevara. 

The HOF or Republic Act No. 8757, enshrines Filipino athletes, coaches, and trainors who have brought honor and pride to the country in their career, and exhibited exemplary character. 

Initial qualifications include at least winning a gold medal in the Southeast Asian Games, a silver medal in the Asian Games or Asian Cup or regional games, a bronze medal in the Olympics, or a world championship title in any professional or amateur sports tilt. 

The PSC, as the government’s sports agency, is directed by law to organize the Screening Committee and the awarding of the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame title to the chosen athletes. 

Among the past recipients of this award were Filipino Boxing legend Gabriel “Flash” Elorde, Asia’s First Chess Grandmaster Eugene Torre, Asia’s Fastest Woman Lydia de Vega, and Bowling World champions Rafael “Paeng” Nepomuceno and Olivia “Bong” Coo.   

Topics: Philippine Sports Hall of Fame , William Ramirez , Abraham Tolentino
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.