29.9 C
Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Pringle, Parks lead Best Player race

- Advertisement -

Five players led by Stanley Pringle and Ray Parks are strongly contending for the PBA Best Player of the Conference award during the Philippine Cup bubble season.

Pringle steered Barangay Ginebra to its first all-Filipino championship in the last 13 years, while Parks emerged as the top player in the statistical points standings.

Crowding out the two in the bubble’s highest individual award in lieu of the season MVP are the Phoenix duo of Calvin Abueva and Matthew Wright, along with Parks’ TnT Tropang Giga teammate Roger Pogoy and Terrafirma’s CJ Perez.

Voting starts on Tuesday (Jan. 5) and ends on Jan. 11.

Abueva finished second behind Parks in the statistical standings, followed by Perez, Wright, and Pogoy, respectively.

The 33-year-old Pringle finished at no.6 but made a strong case for the award after emerging as the Kings’ top player from the eliminations all the way to winning the championship of the historic season.

The BPC awardee will be decided based on statistical points and votes from players, media, and the Commissioner’s Office.

The BPC winner along with the individual honors to be given are going to be announced during the PBA Awards Night to be held virtually on Jan. 17 in place of the annual Leo Awards.

With a shortened season due to COVID-19 pandemic, the league decided to do away giving out its regular awards and instead, will hand out other special honors.

Vying for the Outstanding Rookie (instead of Rookie of the Year) are Barangay Ginebra’s Arvin Tolentino, Aaron Black of Meralco, Terrafirma’s Roosevelt Adams, Barkley Ebona of Alaska, and Magnolia’s Aris Dionisio.

For the Most Improved Player, the deserving candidates are Phoenix’s Justine Chua and Jason Perkins, Barangay Ginebra’s Prince Caperal, Rain or Shine’s Javee Mocon, Raul Soyud of NLEX, and Meralco veteran Reynel Hugnatan.

Meanwhile, contending for the Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award are Abueva, Perez, Barangay Ginebra’s Scottie Thompson, Kevin Alas of NLEX, and Rain or Shine’s Gabe Norwood.

Also to be named are the Outstanding/Elite Five to briefly replace the Mythical Five selection, although there will be no Mythical Second Team and All-Defensive Teams to be named this season.


Popular Articles