Asian University Basketball Championship slated

The Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines, in partnership with the Asian University Basketball Federation, will host the 11th Asian University Basketball Championship.

AUBC Organizing Committee Chairman Robert Milton A. Calo (right) and Commissioner Leonardo Andres
The AUBC opening ceremony will be held on Monday, at 10 am., at the Lyceum of the Philippines University gymnasium in Intramuros, Manila. 

The AUSF was established in 1998 and it has since sanctioned all the AUBC competitions in the past.

The 11th AUBC tournament is being organized by the FESSAP. For the technical operations and the tournament proper, the Basketball Association of the Philippines has been tapped to coordinate with the FESSAP National Secretariat in the running of the games.

Six university basketball teams, including four foreign entries, are seeing action in the 11th AUBC tournament, namely Nippon Sport Science University and Kindai University from Japan, KLBA from Malaysia and HCMC from Vietnam.

Aside from the Lyceum of the Philippines University as the tournament host, one other local possible entry is 9th AUBC Champion University of the East.

The FESSAP is the lone university sports association in the country, recognized by the International University Sports Federation as a regular voting member since 2009.

The opening game of the 11th AUBC tournament will feature Nippon Sport Science University of Japan against Lyceum following simple ceremonies.

Prominent personalities expected to attend the opening include FESSAP officials led by its president Angel Ngu, FESSAP Chairman Alvin Tai Lian, FESSAP Vice President Dr. Jesus Rodrigo Torres, and FESSAP Honorary President David Ong.

AUBF President Shin Dong Pa of Korea will be represented by Park Hyun Mo, AUBF Deputy Secretary General.

Invited Guest of Honors include Senator Emmanuel Pacquiao, Senator Christopher “Bong” Go, and Presidential Adviser for Sports Dennis Uy.

The AUBC Organizing Committee is composed of Robert Milton A. Calo as OC  Chair, Executive Assistant Cecille Sarmiento, Antonio A. Quiza, and Fructuso Raytos, and Sean Elijah Siy.

League Commissioner is Leonardo B. Andres and Technical Supervisor is Nestor Macatuno. Host Lyceum ia represented by its athletic director, Herculles P. Callanta, assisted by LPU Gymnasium Manager, Lanie S. Buan.

Topics: Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines , Asian University Basketball Federation , 11th Asian University Basketball Championship
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1