29.5 C
Wednesday, June 19, 2024

2nd PH University Basketball League under way

- Advertisement -

The Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines is organizing the 2nd Philippine University Basketball League, starting Saturday at the host Technological University of the Philippines Gymnasium in Manila.

The TUP coaching staff, headed by coach Arlene Rodriguez (right), with TUP president Reynaldo P. Ramos (middle) and TUP athletic director Allan Soria (at left)

Opening game features the Bataan Peninsula State University against the Asian Institute of Maritime Studies at 9 a.m., followed by Mapua University against defending champion Philippine Christian University at 11 a.m. The last game is between PUBL host-Technological University of the Philippines and University of Perpetual Help System-Las Pinas.

Invited to grace the opening ceremonies is FESSAP president Edwin C. Fabro, FESSAP chairman, Alvin Tai Lian and Executive Vice President Robert Milton Calo.

TUP president, Engineer Reynaldo P. Ramos will deliver a welcome address to the six participating varsity men’s teams.
The FESSAP is recognized under the auspices of international affiliations as such, the Asian University Basketball Federation, Asia University Sports Federation, Asia Pacific University Sports Union and ASEAN University Sports Council.

The purpose of the PUBL is to provide the opportunity for registered university members only to participate in a qualifying tournament that will represent the country in the upcoming Asian regional meets, such as the 12th Asian University Basketball Championship, 3rd Asia Pacific University Games, and the Asia University Championship.

The PUBL is a premier national event supervised by the FESSAP Executive Committee, to be held annually, featuring top colleges and universities. Next season, it will involve teams from Regions 1, 3, 4, 7, 11, and 12.

The one-month tournament will be played every Saturday and Sunday.

One of the PUBL regulations is that no foreign player is allowed and a maximum of 15 players can fill in during the competition.


Popular Articles