26.7 C
Saturday, May 25, 2024

Ayat Fest ‘24 crowns new queens

- Advertisement -

The serene and picturesque Poro Point Baywalk in San Fernando City, La Union, came alive with festivities during the annual Mutia Ti La Union 2024 grand coronation night on Saturday. Residents cheered for their favorite candidates, showcasing the Filipinos’ affection for pageants. 

In a rare occurrence, the country’s first Miss Universe, the timeless Gloria Diaz, and the reigning Miss Universe Philippines, Michelle Dee, sat together among the panel of judges, which also included Niña Corpuz, Beautederm’s Rhea Tan, and fashion designer Glademir Echavarre.

After an elaborately produced three-hour spectacle, themed “EmpowHERing,” Prianka Elina Laurena Goswami of San Juan was crowned Mutia ti La Union 2024. Echavarre also received special awards, including Mutia Vibrant Smile, Mutia Fashion Model, Best in Abel Bangar Resort Wear, and Best in Swimwear.

“No words can explain how grateful I am to all the people who helped me conquer my MLU Journey. It was never easy for me. I’ve been through a lot of breakdowns and sufferings but I didn’t let those define me,” said Goswani after the coronation.

Echavarre’s court of honor includes Mutia ti Agriturismo 2024 Czarina Caguntas and Mutia ti Kalikasan 2024 Maria Katrina Calica. Mikaella Fernandez and Juvire Glay Abanes were named first and second runners-up, respectively.

Mutia La Union 2024, part of Ayat Fest 2024: La Union’s 174th Founding Anniversary, was presented by Lumina Events, under the direction of Bernard Yabut Maybituin, with the support of La Union Governor Raphaella Veronica Ortega-David and former Governor Francisco Ortega III.

MJ Lastimosa, Nicole Cordoves, and Emma Tiglao hosted the event with celebrity guest performers Joshua Garcia, Kyle Echarri, and Ben&Ben (MLU).

* * *

Laguna lass named Miss Supermodel Worldwide Philippines 2024

Ma. Thea Judinelle Casungcad won the Miss Supermodel Worldwide Philippines 2024 search during the grand coronation night, held at the historic Manila Hotel, on Sunday. She will represent the country at the 5th edition of Miss Supermodel Worldwide, to be held in India in April.

Jan Helen Cruz Villanueva and Mary Joy Persia Suarez finished as first and second runners-up, respectively.

Casungcad, a 22-year-old 5-foot-7 Dentistry student from Laguna, almost walked away with most of the special awards given out including Miss Runway Model, Best in Swimsuit, Best in Evening Gown, Best in Filipiniana, and Miss Wacoal (co-winner).

Casungcad succeeded last year’s Shyrla Nuñez who finished 4th runner-up in Miss Supermodel Worldwide 2023 held in New Delhi, India.

In 2022, the Philippines’ Alexandra Mae Rosales won the title in Jaipur, India. 

Miss Supermodel Worldwide Philippines is presented by Velvet Media with project director JJ Maghirang and national director Mae Evelyn Maghirang. Among the judges were Miss Aura International 2021 Alexandra Faith Garcia and top influential Filipino designer Oskar Peralta.


Popular Articles