Angel Locsin, Kim Chiu among recipientsof Isah V. Red Award at 4th EDDYS

The EDDYS or The Entertainment Editors’ Choice, kicks off this year honoring once again the movie industry’s excellent craftsmen, actors, writers, directors, workers, and producers.

The late Isah V. Red (center), former Manila Standard entertainment editor, with the members and officers of SPEEd during the 3rd EDDYS Nominees’ Night held in June 2019.
Organized by the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors’ (SPEEd), the annual film event goes virtual this year with its awards night streaming on March 22.

This year’s edition also gives recognition to top-caliber work aired on various platforms during the time of the pandemic.

Find out who made it to the shortlist to compete in 14 categories covering work released in 2020, including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actress, and Best Actor.

 Screen stars Angel Locsin and Kim Chui, and Beautederm’s Rhea Anicoche-Tan are among the recipients of Isah V. Red Award at 4th Eddys, an annual film event organized by the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd).
As a special highlight, the 4th EDDYS will launch the Isah V. Red (IVR) Award in honor and memory of SPEEd’s founding president, Isah V. Red.

“This recognition is given to individuals like him — a dynamic and spirited renaissance man with a deep love for God, country, and community — who, beyond the realm of entertainment, had so enriched and made a difference in the lives of many, in his most colorful, gregarious and inimitable way,” SPEEd President Ian Fariñas said.

The first recipients of the IVR award are Senator Bong Revilla, Jr., Angel Locsin, Kim Chiu, Ramon Ang, Rei Anicoche-Tan, and Claire de Leon-Papa for their humanitarian efforts toward alleviating conditions of people adversely affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Rhea Anicoche-Tan
Another much-awaited part in this edition is the 2021 EDDYS Icon awards, to be conferred on entertainment personalities Gloria Sevilla, Ronaldo Valdez, Pilar Pilapil, Boots Anson-Rodrigo, Gina Pareño, Dante Rivero, Tommy Abuel, Caridad Sanchez, Joel Lamangan, and Ricky Lee.

Meanwhile, the EDDYS special awardees have been named as the following: TV-radio host-columnist Lolit Solis for the Joe Quirino Award; entertainment columnist Mario Bautista for the Manny Pichel Award; Blacksheep Productions for the Rising Producers’ Circle; and The IdeaFirst Company as Producer of the Year.

Kim Chiu
Also, posthumous recognition will be given to Peque Gallaga, Tony Mabesa, Menggie Cobarrubias, Ramon Revilla, Sr., and Tony Ferrer.

SPEEd, through these uncertain times that changed the landscape of entertainment in various ways, believes that giving recognition to the best works of the year is one way to uplift filmmakers, producers, writers, actors and all those involved in creating quality Filipino film works that both entertain and inspire audiences across the country and the world.

SPEEd is a group of entertainment editors of major broadsheets and tabloids in the Philippines.

Topics: The Entertainment Editors’ Choice , The EDDYS , SPEEd , Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors , Isah V. Red Award , Angel Locsin , Kim Chiu , Ramon Ang , Rei Anicoche-Tan , Claire de Leon-Papa
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA