GMA execs join International Emmy Awards jury

GMA Network executives Marissa L. Flores, Jose Mari R. Abacan, and Roxanne J. Barcelona were tapped anew to be part of the 48th International Emmy Awards jury.

GMA worldwide division vice president Roxanne J. Barcelona
Out of four Philippine representatives, the three GMA officers were invited as Final Round jurors at the International Emmy Awards which held its first-ever virtual awarding ceremonies last Nov. 23. The prestigious award-giving body, traditionally held in New York City, celebrates the best in global television with over one thousand television producers from around the world showcasing their programming.

GMA Senior Vice President for News and Public Affairs Marissa L. Flores was one of the judges for the News & Current Affairs categories. Flores is at the helm of the network’s formidable News and Public Affairs group, which has consistently delivered Serbisyong Totoo to Filipino viewers all over the world.

Joining the esteemed panel of jurors for the Comedy Category was GMA First Vice President for Program Management Jose Mari R. Abacan who has been sharing his expertise with the Emmys since 2007. Abacan, who was instrumental in GMA becoming the pioneer in introducing Koreanovelas, Lakorn, Turkish and Indian series in the country, also oversees all program acquisition initiatives from foreign producers.

GMA first vice president for program management Jose Mari R. Abacan
Vice President of GMA’s Worldwide Division Roxanne J. Barcelona, on the other hand, was a judge in the finals of the Drama Category in this year’s Emmys. Barcelona, with over three decades of industry experience, heads the worldwide distribution of GMA’s drama and entertainment programs. Under her leadership, GMA is recognized as the primary source of Filipino content which is seen in over 26 countries and in four continents.

Notably, the International Emmys also tapped GMA News pillar Jessica Soho during the First Round judging. The award-winning broadcast journalist hosts the network’s top-rating program Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho, and anchors the GMA News TV flagship newscast State of the Nation with Jessica Soho.

GMA Network senior vice president for news and public affairs Marissa L. Flores
Descendants of the Sun The Philippine Adaptation director Dominic Zapata and program head writer John Roque were likewise part of the 2020 First Round Jurors.

The International Emmy Awards is an annual event organized by the International Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. It is a membership-based organization of leading media and entertainment figures from all sectors of television including internet, mobile, and technology.

Topics: Marissa L. Flores , Jose Mari R. Abacan , Roxanne J. Barcelona , GMA Network , International Academy of Television Arts and Sciences , International Emmy Awards
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Working Pillars of the House