CCP, Bench gear up for TernoCon 2020

Inspired by the successful outcome of TernoCon 2018, the first-ever Terno Making Convention and Contest held last year at the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP), the CCP and Bench/Suyen Corporation join efforts again to pursue its mission of preserving and promoting the Philippine national dress with T TernoCon 2020 on Jan. 26 next year.

CCP, Bench gear up  for TernoCon 2020
The 2020 edition of TernoCon aims to encourage the use of the terno as a popular form of formal dress.
The 2020 edition aims to encourage the use of the terno as a popular form of formal dress, and to inspire and motivate emerging designers to create ternos that are at par with the creations of senior designers.  

Fourteen designers were chosen as finalists for the competition this year. They are: Abdul Gaffar A. Dianalan (Laguna), Christian Jay P. Martin (Nueva Vizcaya), Xernan A. Orticio (Camarines Sur), Rogelio Samson Pugat, Jr. (Ilocos Norte), Renz Edward L. Reyes (Cavite), Hanz Herzl Pableo (Cebu City), Christopher L. Zamora (Davao City), Hannah Francesca L. Adrias (Pasay), Jennifer Jean A. Dee (Sta. Ana, Manila), Jayson A. Glarino (Valenzuela City),  Krizia Kaita A. Jimenez (Quezon City),  Windell B. Madis (Makati City),  Dinnes Obusan (Makati City), and John Gavin B. Ruffy (Las Piñas City). 

 Each finalist is required to design and execute a capsule collection of three ternos which can either be cocktail or evening ternos. 

From May 27 to 31, the 14 finalists will be gathered to attend a weeklong workshop, mentoring and convention at the CCP Silangan Hall.

Notable resource speakers who have enormous contributions to art, culture, design, and fashion will talk on specific topics relevant to the program.

Among the speakers are Dr. Nicanor G. Tiongson (professor & editor of the CCP Encyclopedia of Philippine Art), Felice Sta. Maria (Filipiniana author),  Sandra Castro Baker(expert in Philippine fabrics), Cholo Ayuyao (doll couturier), Lenora Cabili (designer of contemporary Filipiniana), Mark Lewis Lim Higgins (painter & fashion educator), Rafael del Casal (portrait artist & ecclesiastical designer).  

TernoCon 2020 will have as mentors Inno Sotto (chief mentor), Philip Rodriguez (Cebu’s preeminent designer), Ivarluski Aseron (modernist designer), and Lesley Mobo (international designer) with Gino Gonzales as the Project Director.  A series of individual consultations with the mentors will also happen from August to September 2019.

 The final competition judging and showcase with cultural program is set for Jan. 26, 2020 at the Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo (main theater) of the CCP.  The mentors together with the First Prize Winner of  TernoCon 2018, Marlon Tuazon of Pampanga, will showcase their special terno collections during the final competition night on Jan. 26.  The criteria for judging are adherence to competition guidelines, craftsmanship / execution of design/fabrication, creativity, and wearability / functionality.  

 The 14 finalists will receive a Plaque of Participation and the top three winners will receive cash prizes from Bench/Suyen Corporation. 

 For more information, contact the CCP Cultural Exchange Department at tel. nos. 832-1125 locals 1708-1709.

Topics: TernoCon 2018 , Bench , Terno Making Convention and Contest , Suyen Corporation

Related stories:

No related stories matched this topic.

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA