29.7 C
Monday, May 27, 2024

PBBM signs new laws on roads in the regions, new barangay

- Advertisement -

President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. has signed five new laws renaming circumferential and bypass roads, a bridge, and a national highway in Central Visayas, Ilocos Region, Northern Mindanao, and in the Bicol Region; and creating a new barangay in Surigao del Sur.

Under Republic Act No. 11987, Mr. Marcos renamed Bohol Island Circumferential Road as President Carlos P. Garcia Circumferential Road, which traverses through Barangay Poblacion III, toward the north of Tagbilaran City, and returns to the same barangay from the eastern side of the city.

The President also signed Republic Act No. 11988 which renames the Urdaneta City Bypass Road in Pangasinan to Ambassador Eduardo “Danding” M. Cojuangco Jr. Avenue.

The avenue traverses Barangays Nancayasan, Santo Domingo, Santa Lucia, Camantiles, and Anonas.

The Tambacan Bridge that traverses the Iligan River in Barangay Tambacan, Iligan City in the Northern Mindanao Region was renamed Mariano Lluch Badelles Sr. Bridge under Republic Act 11989.

The Chief Executive also signed into law Republic Act 11990, naming a Camarines Sur national road as Speaker Arnulfo “Noli” Fuentebella Highway, stretching from Barangay San Juan Bautista, traversing through Barangays Tagongtong, Abucayan, Hiwacloy, Digidigon, Balaynan and Payatan in the municipality of Goa.

Included in the national highway are Barangays Lupi, Tierra Nevada, Binalay, Camagong, Salvacion, San Roque, San Ramon, Sagrada, La Medella, Magsaysay and San Vicente in the municipality of Tinambac up to Barangay Nalayahan in the municipality of Siruma.

The Department of Public Works and Highways is mandated to issue the necessary rules, orders and circulars to implement the four aforementioned laws within 60 days of effectivity.

Also, the President signed into law Republic Act No. 11986 that creates Barangay Guinhalinan in Barobo, Surigao del Sur.

The new law mandates the Commission on Elections to conduct and supervise a plebiscite to be held in Barangay Guinhalinan within three months from the effectivity of the law.

The plebiscite will be shouldered by the municipality of Barobo.

The Barobo mayor is tasked to appoint a Punong Barangay (village chief), seven Sangguniang Barangay (village council) members, a Sangguniang Kabataan (youth council) chair and seven councilors until their successors have been elected and qualified.

Marcos signed all five laws on March 21 and they will take effect 15 days following their publications in the Official Gazette or a newspaper of general circulation.


Popular Articles