26.7 C
Saturday, May 25, 2024

Group to tackle inmates’ transfer

- Advertisement -

The Department of Justice (DOJ) has formed a technical working group (TWG) to speed up the transfer of prisoners from the New Bilibid Prison to regional prisons and to put up facilities that will hold persons convicted of heinous crimes.

In a Department Order No.208 issued on April 24, Justice Secretary Jesus Crispin Remulla mandated the creation of the TWG as part of the government’s efforts to expedite the transfer of NBP’s PDLs and the setting up of facilities to detain those convicted of heinous crimes.

“Our prison system and facilities reflect the efficiency of the State in rebuilding lives who have once become astray for certain reasons beyond our control,” Remulla said.

“In reforming those who have transgressed our laws, we should consider not only the welfare of the PDLs but the security and well-being of our community as well,” the DOJ chief added.

Remulla stressed that the expeditious transfer of NBP’s PDLs and the setting up of facilities for those convicted of heinous crimes  are provided for under Republic Act 11928, the Separate Facility for Heinous Crimes Act.

“Ideally, this project aims to establish a facility in a suitable location away from the general population and other PDLs, preferably within a military establishment or an island separate from the mainland,” Remulla noted.

 Under Remulla’s order, the TWG will be chaired by DOJ Undersecretary Deo L. Marco and Bureau of Corrections (BuCor) Director General Gregorio Pio P. Catapang Jr.

The other members of the TWG are DOJ Assistant Secretary Francis John L. Tejano who has been named as vice-chairperson,  and nine other BuCor officials — Deputy Director General Al I. Perreras, Deputry Director General Gil T. Torralba, Officer-In-Charge Deputy Director General C/CSupt. Celso S. Bravo, Directorate for Security Operations acting head C/CInsp. Eduardo P. Gogorza, Legal Service chief C/SSupt. Melencio S. Faustino, Persons Deprived of LIberty (PDL) Documents and Processing Division chief S/SInsp. Raymund D. Peneyra, NBP acting superintendent C/CInsp. Roger Boncales, Sablayan Prison and Penal Farm acting superintendent C/Insp. Angelito Lapitan, and Correctional Institution for Women acting superintendent C/SSupt. Daisy S. Castillote.

Remulla’s order also stated that representatives from the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) and the United Nations Office of Drugs and Crime will be invited as TWG external members.

The TWG has also been been instructed “to submit its Report to the Secretary not later than ninety (90) days from the issuance of the Department Order.”


Popular Articles