Stars converge at the first Eddys

posted July 08, 2017 at 05:50 pm
by  Nickie Wang
The Eddys is set to be a star-studded night, and with Edu and Luis Manzano as hosts, it’ll no doubt be a feel-good and funny one as well.

Tonight at the Kia Theater, the red carpet will be rolled out to welcome the stars from the country’s biggest networks and talent management agencies including the love team James Reid and Nadine Lustre, who will also open the show.

Viva artists Ella Cruz and Julian Trono, and Kapamilya stars Yassi Pressman and Arjo Atayde are taking prime spots with their respective musical numbers, too. 

BIGGEST LOVE TEAM. Top Cosmo Bachelor James Reid and FHM Sexiest Woman Nadine Lustre will open “The Eddys,” a two-hour awards show and entertainment spectacle.  
The two-hour awards show, which will honor the best talents in the local movie industry, will see a production number  headed by singer-songwriter Ogie Alcasid, Concert King Martin Nievera and rising pop divas Morissette Amon and Klarisse. The singers will pay tribute to the late OPM legend Willy Cruz.

The roster of celebrities who will present the various awards to be given out includes top-caliber and award-winning actor and actress Christopher de Leon and Lorna Tolentino with rising young stars AJ Muhlach and Phoebe Walker, comedian Empoy Marquez, Alessandra de Rossi, couple Sarah Lahbati and Richard Gutierrez, love team and former Pinoy Big Brother housemates Edward Barber and Maymay Entrata, TV stars JC Santos and Bela Padilla; young love team Elmo Magalona and Janella Salvador; and actresses Cristine Reyes, and Jodi Sta. Maria, to name a few.

Viva artists and rising love team Julian Trono and Ella Cruz
Special awards will be handed out to Director Lav Diaz (Manny Pichel Award), TV host/columnist Boy Abunda (Joe Quirino Award) and Regal Films matriarch Lily Monteverde (Producer of the Year).

The Eddys is mounted by the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd), a non-stock, non-profit organization of entertainment editors from the country’s top broadsheets and tabloids.

The awards is the group’s way of encouraging Filipino filmmakers, producers, writers, actors and other allied artists in the Philippine movie industry to continue pursuing their passion of creating films that mirror the realities of our society.

Father and son tandem Edu and Luis Manzano host the awards show
“Given our collective experience and many decades of chronicling the careers, artistic processes and success or failure of actors, directors, producers and other players in the Philippine movie industry, we felt that we are in a distinctive position to hand out sound and sincere recognition of the best in filmmaking of the past year, and eventually inspire everyone in the industry to take pride in their craft and continue to enrich the Filipino talent,” said Lifestyle and Entertainment editor and SPEEd President Isah V. Red during the announcement of the nominees last month. 

The nominees for the Best Film are: Pamilya Ordinaryo, Ang Babaeng Humayo, Everything About Her, Saving Sally, and Die Beautiful. 

Young chanteuse Morissette Amon joins OPM icons in a grand musical prod
Vying for top acting honors are Nora Aunor (Tuos), Vilma Santos (Everything About Her), Charo Santos-Concio (Ang Babaeng Humayo), Hasmine Killip (Pamilya Ordinaryo), Ai Ai delas Alas (Area) and Jaclyn Jose (Ma’ Rosa). While the Best Director race is a tough competition among acclaimed filmmakers Jun Robles Lana, Die Beautiful; Lav Diaz, Ang Babaeng Humayo; Avid Liongoren, Saving Sally; Joyce Bernal, Everything About Her; and Eduardo Roy, Pamilya Ordinaryo.

Written by Nash Torres and directed by Arnel Natividad, The Eddys is a joint production of Viva Live and ABS-CBN. Show will start at 7 p.m. and will be telecast on ABS-CBN.

Topics: The Eddys , Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd) , organization of entertainment editors , broadsheets and tabloids
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by The Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with The Standard editorial standards, The Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.