‘Standard’ is year’s best paper

posted June 12, 2015 at 12:01 am
by  Sandy Araneta
The Standard bagged the “Newspaper of the Year” Award during yesterday’s Rotary Club of Manila 2015 Journalism Awards.

The prestigious award was received by The Standard’s chairman Philip Romualdez, president Arnold Liong and editor-in-chief Jojo Robles.

The Standard’s chairman Philip Romualdez and president/CEO
Arnold Liong accept the “Newspaper of the Year” award from
Senator Grace Poe.
Antonio Lopez, president of BizNews Asia and columnist of The Standard, received the special award for journalism.

The Rotary Club of Manila said The Standard, which started as Manila Standard in February 1987, won the award for its hard-hitting and exclusive stories and columns, including the participation of resigned Philippine National Police chief Alan Purisima in the Mamasapano debacle and the alleged payola for the passage of the proposed Bangsamoro Basic Law.

The Standard was also cited for its new innovative format as the country’s only tallboy-sized daily and interactive digital platform.

“Journalists do not only document events; it is their inquisitive minds and the courage to probe and ask the important questions and their fortitude in finding the answers that keep our public officials true to their occupation of serving the people,” said Senator Grace Poe who gave the keynote speech.

“A strong, untainted and objective media is important in our drive against corruption...They provide the magnifying glass in which we can examine issues from all sides. The catalyst in changing laws, and regulations so they may become more responsive to the needs of the people,” Poe added.

Business World was named the “Business Newspaper of the Year” while The Mindanao Daily Mirror and The Cebu Freeman were proclaimed “Regional Newspaper of the Year” for Mindanao and Visayas regions, respectively.

Other awardees included former Vice President and TV Patrol anchor Noli de Castro (tv male broadcaster); 24 Oras anchor Vicky Morales (tv female broadcaster); dzMM 630 kHz (radio station); Ruby Tayag (radio female broadcaster); Vic de leon Lima (radio male broadcaster); Ted Failon (investigative reporter); ANC (tv station); Conrado Banal III, (opinion writer); and Ambassador Antonio Cabangon-Chua (special award).

Topics: Martin Romualdez , Congressman Martin Romualdez , Cong Martin Romualdez , Representative Martin Romualdez , Ferdinand Martin Romualdez , Tacloban , Leyte
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by The Standard. Comments are views by thestandard.ph readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of thestandard.ph. While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with The Standard editorial standards, The Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.