Makati City Bakuna

IABC Philippines appoints new leaders

IABC Philippines, the local chapter of San Francisco-based International Association of Business Communicators, announced the appointment of Manila Electric Co. spokesperson Joe Zaldarriaga as president of the board of trustees, spearheading the new leadership team for 2016-2018. 

Zaldarriaga was chosen by the association’s board and members in July. He is tasked to champion IABC’s strategic direction, cultivate membership programming and advance meaningful professional development opportunities for local chapter members. 

Prior to assuming the IABC presidency, Zaldarriaga also served as vice president of the organization and chaired the successful CEO Excel Awards  in 2014 and 2015. 

Currently, Zaldarriaga is assistant vice president and head of public information office of the country’s biggest electricity distribution utility, Meralco. 

Philippines president Joe Zaldarriaga
He was previously a broadcast journalist working as a news reporter and evening desk editor at ABS-CBN News and Current Affairs. Zaldarriaga is a product of the De La Salle University, where he spent his formative grade school and high school years, before graduating with a degree in Asian Studies in 1985.

As IABC president, Zaldarriaga is set to lead the organization into new frontiers and spearhead its digital shift. 

Under his watch, Zaldarriaga plans to bring the value of disruptive, innovative communication into focus – regardless of platforms – and highlight the contribution of corporate communications to business success, and, on a larger scale, to nation building.

Elpi Cuna, chairman emeritus of IABC Philippines, said: “Joe’s three decades of experience in the industry as a driver of innovative business communications will be valuable in the organization’s reinvigoration to seamlessly integrate programs and advocacies with technological advancements. It’s an exciting time for the industry, and I am confident he and the rest of the new IABC leadership will bring the organization to new heights.”

The new IABC Philippines board of trustees include Belle Tiongco as vice president, Dave Davilles as corporate secretary, Sherryl Yao as treasurer, Jeffrey Tarayao as auditor, and Richard Arboleda, Leah Caringal, Jika Dalupan, Claire Papa, Maricar Bautista and Owen Cammayo as trustees. Kane Errol Choa is the immediate past president and chairman. 

IABC is a professional network of 11,000 business communication professionals in over 70 countries. IABC Philippines, now on its 33rd year, is the first IABC chapter outside the United States. Its mission is to share among its members the best global communication practices, ideas and experiences that will enable them to develop highly ethical and effective performance standards for their profession.

Topics: IABC Philippines , appoints new leaders
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Working Pillars of the House