24.9 C
Sunday, March 3, 2024

BARMM constructs more schools

- Advertisement -

The Bangsamoro government continues to construct new school buildings designed to withstand calamities, Education Minister Mohaguer Iqbal said.

Mandated with the function to build schools, the Ministry Basic, Higher and Technical Education (MBHTE) said the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) has turned over school buildings constructed for P7.43 million to the local government of Datu Salibo, Datu Piang, Maguindanao I Division del Sur.

Iqbal said the MBHTE had the school buildings constructed to be calamity-resilient and “to withstand, hopefully, the test of time.”

MBHTE supported its school building construction projects through its 2018 Basic Education Facilities Fund (BEFF) amounting to P4,877,715.99 at Ganoy Primary School (GPS) and another at Tee Primary School (TPS) for P2,561,514.57.

Iqbal, also a member of Parliament of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA), said the BARMM through the MBHTE has time and again assured the Bangsamoro population across the region that educational reforms are in place, including the construction of school buildings, addressing the needs of teachers as well as students.

- Advertisement -

The Bangsamoro region, established in 2018 by the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL), is composed of the provinces of Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao del Sur, Maguindanao del Norte, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi, the cities of Cotabato, Lamitan, and Marawi, as well as the 63 barangays that constitute BARMM’s Special Geographic Area (SGA). Residents of the SGA barangays voted in favor of joining the BARMM in a plebiscite conducted in February 2019.

BARMM 4,404,288 people with 116 municipalities in Basilan (11); Lanao del Sur (39); Maguindanao (36); Sulu (19); and Tawi-Tawi (11). Its component cities are Cotabato (the regional center and capital) in Maguindanao; Lamitan in Basilan; and Marawi in Lanao del Sur.

- Advertisement -


Popular Articles