29.5 C
Monday, May 27, 2024

IPO revokes TAPE’s trademark for ‘Eat Bulaga’ and ‘EB,’ credits TVJ as creator

- Advertisement -

The Intellectual Property Office (IPO) has invalidated the trademark registration of Television and Production Exponents, Inc. (TAPE Inc.) for the names “Eat Bulaga” and “EB,” crediting Tito Sotto, Vic Sotto, and Joey de Leon (TVJ) as the original creators.

The IPO’s decision came after TAPE Inc. failed to substantiate the origins of the “Eat Bulaga” mark.

Contrarily, TVJ provided compelling testimony and explanations, solidifying their claim as the rightful originators of the iconic mark. 

The IPO decision acknowledged TVJ’s credible and believable account of how the idea for the “Eat Bulaga” mark originated.

“The Petitioners proved that it is the originator and owner of the contested EAT BULAGA mark. Petitioners’ explanation or story on how initially the idea of the EAT BULAGA mark came about did seem believable and credible,” according to the IPO decision.

During the period when the IPO decision was pending, TVJ and the Dabarkads temporarily adopted the title E.A.T. for their noontime show on TV5. 

IPO’s decision means that E.A.T. can now use “Eat Bulaga” as its program title.

Conflict arose between TAPE and TVJ when TAPE planned to remove the three veteran hosts and designate Allan K, Wally Bayola, and Jose Manalo as the main hosts.

Mainstay Ruby Rodriguez was also removed by TAPE, allowing Ryzza Mae Dizon to be in the show only once a week. Maine Mendoza and other hosts disapproved of the changes, leading to their resignation and move to TV5.

Eat Bulaga is a cornerstone in Philippine television, airing on the GMA network as a blocktimer produced by TAPE Inc. The show, credited to TVJ as creators, maintains its status as the longest-running variety show in the country since its debut on July 30, 1979.


Popular Articles