AFP Cavaliers crowned UNTV champ a 3rd time

Bags P4M for beneficiary

Armed Forces of the Philippines arranged a date with history as it became the first three-time champion of the UNTV Cup after sweeping Senate in their best-of-three title series Monday night before a huge crowd at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

AFP Cavaliers crowned UNTV champ a 3rd time
The AFP Cavaliers are shown with UNTV officials, led by president and CEO Dr. Daniel Razon and Gerry Panghulan, during the awarding ceremony. The Cavaliers swept the series following an 88-78 win over the Senate Defenders. 
Getting stellar performances from Jerry Lumongsod, Darwin Cordero and Boyet Bautista, the AFP Cavaliers ousteadied the Senate Defenders, 88-78, in Game 2 in a fitting finish to another year of dominant showing in the tournament for public service.

Lumongsod erupted for 26 points, aside from posting three assists, three steals, and a rebound to clinch the Finals MVP in the tournament now on its seventh season. He scored 14 points in the team’s 76-73 win in Game 1.

Also shining for the Cavaliers were Darwin Cordero and former Letran star Boyet Bautista who contributed 19 and 18 points, respectively.

Jeffrey Quiambao added 11 points aside from making life miserable for the usually high-scoring Garri Sevilla, who struggled big time and finished with a paltry five points on 2-of-10 shooting from the field.

AFP’s title win was worth P4 million to its beneficiary—the AFP’s Education Benefit Systems Office.

The Cavaliers, who also triumphed in 2024 and 2016, did not go home empty-handed as UNTV President and CEO Dr. Daniel Razon handed them their P500,000 prize, while the dethroned champions got P300,000.

Kythe Foundation, Tahanang Mapagpala Immaculada Concepcion, Inc. and Bahay Pangarap Foundation, Inc. – the chosen beneficiaries of the Defenders – will have to share equally the P2 million.

“Everybody gave their all, but the Cavaliers just played much harder so I congratulate them for a job well done,” said Razon. “Ang paggawa ng mabuti ay hindi magbubunga ng masama. So to all the teams who took part in the tournament, congratulations.”

Aside from Razon, also present during the game witnessed by close to 10,000 fans were UNTV executive Gerry Panghulan, Senators Joel Villanueva and Sonny Angara, Vice Admiral Gaudencio Collado, Jr., Major Gen. Ericksson Gloria, Brig. Gen. Arnold Fernandez, Col. Taharudin Piang Ampatuan, Col. Dennis Macalintal Senate Secretary Myra Marie Villarica.

The Cavaliers trailed early, but got into the offensive groove in the second quarter that saw them take the lead 39-37 before controlling the tempo of the game to prevail to the delight of their officials and backers.

The Scores: 

AFP 88—Lumongsod 26, Cordero 19, Bautista 18, Quiambao 11,  Tan 5,  Casulla 4, Pascual 3, Almerol 2.

Senate 78—Sanders 13, Mangaran 12, Ng 12, Legaspi 11, Balboa 10, Malaga 9, Omega 6, Sevilla 5.

Quarters: 14-18, 39-37, 62-52, 88-78.

Topics: Armed Forces of the Philippines , UNTV Cup , Jerry Lumongsod , Darwin Cordero , Boyet Bautista ,
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.