Maharlika cage opener live on ABS-CBN S+A

Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League returns to national television this Independence Day (June 12) on ABS-CBN S+A and S+A HD, loaded with new teams and new players in the Datu Cup.

The country’s fastest-growing basketball league, now bigger and stronger with 26 teams, will start its second season with an opening ceremony at 7 p.m., followed by the showdown between newcomers General Santos Warriors and the Marikina Shoemakers at 7:30 p.m. Completing the double-header are Mandaluyong El Tigre and 2017 Rajah Cup runner-up Muntinlupa Cagers at 9:30 p.m.

Inaugural champ Batangas City Athletics’ path to another title conquest looks to be a difficult one with the entry of 16 new teams and a whole slew of deadly ballers that just came on board to pump more star power and adrenaline to the fledgling league founded by Sen. Manny Pacquiao.

Among them are two-time ASEAN Basketball League MVP Bobby Ray Parks Jr. who is suiting up for Mandaluyong, veteran pros Rey Guevarra (Muntinlupa), Jondan Salvador (Cebu), and John Wilson (San Juan), former collegiate stars Jai Reyes (Laguna), Kelvin Gregorio (Rizal), Jojo Duncil (Quezon City), Ronjay Enrile (Pasig), and celebrity basketball players Andre Paras (Imus) and Gerald Anderson (Marikina).

Don’t miss the MPBL Datu Cup on S+A and S+A HD starting June 12 at 7 pm. For news and updates, visit or follow @abscbnsports on Facebook and Twitter. For updates, follow @abscbnpr on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram or visit

Topics: Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League , ABS-CBN S+A , Datu Cup ,
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1