GMA Network hauls awards from international, local award-giving bodies

Leading broadcast company GMA Network continues to be highly-commended, with its programs and personalities winning honors from various award-giving bodies both here and abroad.

GMA Network hauls awards  from international,  local award-giving bodies
 Tadhana host and Kapuso Primetime Queen Marian Rivera with Tadhana Executive Producer Eleazar Del Rosario (left). The drama anthology took home the Best OFW True-to-Life Stories prize  while Marian won the Best Actress award for the episode “Milya-Milyang Agwat ng Mag-ina.”
After being hailed as national winners, several GMA programs and personalities represented the country in the first Asian Academy Creative Awards held at the Capitol Theater in Singapore on Dec. 7 and 8.

GMA News pillar Jessica Soho was honored as the Philippines’ Best News or Current Affairs Presenter for GMA News TV’s flagship newscast State of the Nation with Jessica Soho: Marawi Liberation War is Over. The coverage represented the country for the Best News Programme category.

At the same time, top-rating magazine program Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho was recognized as the country’s Best Infotainment Programme.

Broadcast journalist Sandra Aguinaldo received the national award for Best Current Affairs Programme or Series for her I-Witness’ “War Zone ER” documentary.

News reporter Jun Veneracion, in turn, took home the national award for Best Single News Story/Report Exclusive Report on his “Rescue of Hostages in Marawi” report for 24 Oras.

GMA Network hauls awards  from international,  local award-giving bodies
Miguel Tanfelix represented the Philippines for the Best Actor in a Leading Role category.
Atom Araullo’s Philippine Seas, meanwhile, was named as the country’s Best Documentary Programme (One-off/Special).

Also representing the Philippines was Raffy Tima’s Inside Marawi: A Report on 360 Video for the Best Immersive (360, VR) category.

Meabwhile, Kapuso entertainment programs and artists won various national awards in different categories as well. 

Comedy genius Michael V. and his award-winning weekend comedy sitcom Pepito Manaloto took home the national citation for Best Comedy Performance and Best Comedy Programme, respectively.

Actor Miguel Tanfelix bagged the Best Actor in a Leading Role award singer-actress Kyline Alcantara was cited as Best Actress in a Supporting Role. Both national awards were won by the two young stars for their exemplary performance in the GMA primetime series Kambal, Karibal. 

GMA Network hauls awards  from international,  local award-giving bodies
Kyline Alcantara (left) represented the Philippines for the Best Actress in a Supporting Role category while Gabby Eigenmann represented the country for the Best Actor in a Supporting Role category.
Winning the Best Actor in a Supporting Role for the Philippines is esteemed actor Gabby Eigenmann for his portrayal in the Afternoon Prime series Contessa.

The Best Children’s Animated Programme or Series in the Philippines is GMA weekend children show Daig Kayo Ng Lola Ko.

The Kapuso network’s well-loved and top-rating singing competition The Clash was the country’s winner for Best Music or Dance Programme category.

Winning the national award for Best Promo or Trailer is the Launch Promo of hit romantic comedy series Inday Will Always Love You produced by the network’s Program Support Department (PSD). Representing the Network during the awarding ceremonies in Singapore was PSD Associate Creative Director Blesilda Gonzales.

Kapuso celebrities Michael V., Miguel Tanfelix, Kyline Alcantara and Gabby Eigenmann also took the spotlight as co-presenters of major honors during the awarding ceremonies.

 Meanwhile at the 8th OFW Gawad Parangal held last Dec. 9, GMA News pillar Arnold Clavio was hailed as Best Male Newscaster.  Clavio also won as Best TV Host for the country’s longest-running morning show Unang Hirit.

At the same time, Kapuso reporters Tricia Zafra and Marisol Abdurahman were conferred as Outstanding Field Reporters.

Award-winning drama anthology Tadhana took home the Best OFW True-to-Life Stories prize; while its host, Kapuso Primetime Queen Marian Rivera-Dantes, won the Best Actress award for the episode Milya-Milyang Agwat ng Mag-ina.

Actress Jennylyn Mercado was named as Best Actress for the GMA primetime series The Cure, while seasoned actor Marvin Agustin was given the Best Actor award for the top-rating soap Kambal, Karibal.

The Best Comedian awards were accorded to Mike “Pekto” Nacua and Super TeklaGladys Guevarra, in turn, was chosen as Best Comedienne.

Earning Best Variety Show citation is the country’s number one noontime habit Sunday PinaSaya.

Organized by the Kapisanan ng mga Kamag-anak at Migranteng Manggagawang Pilipino, Inc. (KAKAMMPI), the award pays tribute to individuals, groups and organizations who in one way or another unselfishly share their time, skills and resources for the welfare of OFWs.​

Topics: GMA Network , Jessica Soho , Sandra Aguinaldo , Jun Veneracion , Blesilda Gonzales , Miguel Tanfelix , Kyline Alcantara ,  Gabby Eigenmann
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Working Pillars of the House