25.8 C
Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Almendras named MAP president for 2024

- Advertisement -

Jose Rene Almendras, president and CEO of AC Logistics Holding Corp. and public affairs group head of Ayala Corp. (AC), was elected 76th president of the Management Association of the Philippines (MAP) for 2024.

Almendras, a former Cabinet and Energy secretary, has vast experience in the private and the public sectors.

He also serves as senior managing director of AC. He is a board director of several companies within the Ayala Group such as AC Energy and Infrastructure, Light Rail Manila Holdings Inc., Entrego, Air 21 Holdings Inc. and its subsidiaries.

He spent 13 years with the Citibank group where he started as a management trainee and landed his first CEO position as president of City Savings Bank of the Aboitiz Group at the age of 37.

In 2011, he was recognized by the World Economic Forum (WEF) as a sustainability champion for his efforts as president of Manila Water Company Inc. (MWCI).  During his stint as its president and COO, MWCI received multiple awards and was recognized as one of the Best Managed Companies in Asia, Best in Corporate Governance, one of the Greenest Companies in the Philippines, and hailed as the world’s Most Efficient Water Company.

- Advertisement -

As a public servant, he served in various high-level positions such as Secretary of Energy, Cabinet Secretary and Secretary of Foreign Affairs.

In June 2016, he was awarded the Order of Lakandula, Rank of Gold Cross Bayani, a presidential award and the highest honor given to a civilian by the Republic of the Philippines. The award was President Benigno Aquino III’s recognition of his exemplary service during his administration.

Joining Almendras on the MAP 2024 board of governors are KPMG R.G. Manabat & Co. vice chair and COO Emanuel Bonoan, as VP; HSBC Philippines treasurer and head of markets and securities services Ma. Corazon Purisima as treasurer; GCash/Mynt president and CEO Martha Sazon as assistant treasurer; and CEO Advisers Inc. partner Karen Batungbacal as secretary.

The other MAP governors are Du-Baladad and Associates (BDB Law) founding partner and CEO and MAP immediate past president Benedicta Du-Baladad, Center for Excellence in Governance vice chair Rex Drilon II, PLDT and Smart president and CEO Alfredo Panlilio and P&A Grant Thornton founder Benjamin Punongbayan.

- Advertisement -


Popular Articles