29.6 C
Monday, May 20, 2024

Ilocos state university adds Doctor of Medicine program

- Advertisement -

President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. has signed into law Republic Act No. 11978, establishing a college of medicine in the Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University-South La Union Campus (DMMMSU-SLUC) in the Municipality of Agoo, Province of La Union.

RA No. 11978, known as the “Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University-South La Union Campus-College of Medicine” will primarily offer a Doctor of Medicine Program, including an Integrated Liberal Arts and Medicine Program.

The program will consist of basic science and clinical courses, and using a learner-centered, competency-based, and community-oriented approach, with the goal “to develop a corps of professional physicians to strengthen the healthcare system of the country.”

It is also aimed to respond to the human resource development needs of the Province of La Union and the Ilocos Region, and is mandated to undertake research and extension services and provide progressive leadership in these areas.

A full copy of the six-page RA No. 11978 is available at the Official Gazette.

President Marcos signed the law on February 15 and will take effect 15 days after its publication in the Official Gazette, or in a newspaper of general circulation.


Popular Articles