30.4 C
Thursday, June 13, 2024

Top NCR Mayors of the Year: Belmonte, Tiangco, Malapitan – RPMD

- Advertisement -

The RP-Mission and Development Foundation Inc. (RPMD) completed its nationwide survey from July 1-15, 2022 for all mayors, governors, and members of the House of Representatives for their overall performance for the year 2021.

Within the National Capital Region (NCR), the ranking results for “Top City Mayors” are as follows:

Mayor Josefina “Joy” Belmonte of Quezon City posted an 88-percent job performance rating as the Top City Mayor in Metro Manila, tailed closely by former Navotas City Mayor and current Rep. Tobias “Toby” Tiangco with an 86-percent mark.

Third place went to former Mayor and current Rep. Oscar “Oca” Malapitan of Caloocan City with 83%, while Mayor Imelda “Emi” Calixto-Rubiano of Pasay City was 4th with 81% rating. Fifth position went to former Mayor and current Vice Mayor Carmelita “Menchie” Abalos of Mandaluyong City with 80%.

The rankings were heavily reliant on their overall job performance in 2021, according to Dr. Paul Martinez, Executive Director of RPMD.

“The expectations and responsibilities of mayors were extensive, encompassing multiple roles as local chief executives, from supervision to implementation of all LGU policies, programs, projects, and services, and the enforcement of all laws and ordinances in relation to the governance of the city,” he said.

“The mayors needed to maximize their cities’ resources to generate income in funding all their initiatives, and most importantly to address and respond to the COVID-19 pandemic’s effects. Those top mayors must be recognized and commended for their efforts,” Martinez added.

Dr. Martinez added that their constituents praised Mayors Belmonte, Tiangco, and Malapitan for their leadership brand, human and social services, economic development, infrastructure, response to COVID-19, and institutional development.

All 2021 NCR Mayors who sought re-election or another local post won in the May 9 election. Mayor Belmonte won by a large margin of 245,000 votes against a party-list congressman, while brothers Toby and John Rey Tiangco triumphed and seamlessly changed positions in Navotas City as Mayor and Representative.

A similar scenario went for the father-and-son duo of Oca and Along Malapitan, who switched places and also won conclusively in Caloocan.

Additional results for NCR Mayors are as follows: Marcy Teodoro 81% (Marikina), Vico Sotto 80% (Pasig), Abby Binay 75% (Makati), Isko Moreno 73% (Manila), Rex Gatchalian 71% (Valenzuela), Lino Cayetano 70% (Taguig), Francis Zamora 68% (San Juan), Edwin Olivarez 66% (Parañaque), Jaime Fresnedi 65% (Muntinlupa), Mel Aguilar 63% (Las Piñas), Ike Ponce III 58% (Pateros) and Antolin Oreta III 55% (Malabon).

RPMD participated in the preceding election and accurately evaluated the national and local environments and “will continuously exert efforts to provide government decision-makers and policymakers relevant as well as significant data that would impact the lives of Filipinos,” Martinez said.

The “RPMD Year 2021 Public Satisfaction Survey,” conducted by RP-Mission and Development Foundation Inc., is an independent, non-commissioned national survey conducted per district/city in each region.

In NCR, 10,000 respondents in 16 cities and one municipality were asked, “Do you approve or disapprove of [name of Mayor/District Representative] in handling his/her job as (Mayor/District Representative)?”


Popular Articles