29.7 C
Monday, May 27, 2024

PH bowlers hope to gain valuable experience in Asian junior tourney

- Advertisement -

Members of the Philippine team vowed to give their best in the 21st Asian Junior Tenpin Bowling Championships, saying the experience will serve them well when they vie in future international competitions.

The tournament is scheduled Aug. 14 to 20 at the Blu-O Rhythm and Bowl in Bangkok.

The Philippine delegation that includes 16 bowlers will leave for the Thai capital on Aug. 13.

“We will just be enjoying this tournament while gaining experience. But we have a good chance,” said head coach Biboy Rivera during Tuesday’s online Philippine Sportswriters Association Forum.

The tournament is reserved for bowlers aged 18 years and below. It will provide the young Filipino bowlers the needed exposure as they ride the momentum of the country’s success in the Hanoi SEA Games last May.

The Philippines ended an 11-year gold medal drought in the SEA Games by winning the gold in men’s singles and team of four, and women’s singles.

Also gracing the forum presented by San Miguel Corporation, MILO, Philippine Sports Commission, Philippine Olympic Committee, Amelie Hotel Manila, Unilever, and the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation were bowlers Zach Ramin and Stephen Luke Diwa.

“I’m very excited and honored,” said Ramin, who is based in Singapore. He added that he’d been training three days a week for the competition that drew 13 countries, including Singapore, Malaysia and Japan.

“I can say that we have a good chance,” added Diwa, a student at Southville International School.

Unlike Ramin, the 17-year-old Diwa will carry the experience of competing for the Philippines, having won the gold in men’s doubles during the IBF Under-21 World Championships in Sweden last month.

Ramin has been with the Philippine youth team since 2019, and had previous stints in Malaysia, Japan and Hong Kong.
The Philippines will field two teams each in the boys’ and girls’ divisions, including Justin Dinham, Kurt Anthony Capellan, John Raphael Besana, Sydmond Juille Vista, Kiel Andrey Barbosa and Christian Trespicio.

The girl’s team includes Michaela Jayne Gutierrez, Grace Ann Hernandez, Kassandra Denise Yap, Juliane Chelsea Santos, Kysha Nicole Agujo, Antonette Garcia, Nomie Juayne Rosario and Tracey Carlyn Tan.

Joining Rivera are fellow coaches Chris Batson, Billy Lopue, Ariel Yelo and Josephine Canare.


Popular Articles