25.6 C
Thursday, February 29, 2024

Supreme Court revamps composition of its three divisions

- Advertisement -

The Supreme Court has reorganized the composition of its three divisions following the retirement of Associate Justice Presbitero Velasco Jr. and the appointment of his successor Associate Justice Jose Reyes.

In Special Order No. 2585 dated Aug. 14, 2018, Acting Chief Justice Antonio Carpio ordered the revamp of the Court’s divisions with new chairmen.

With the appointment of Justice Jose Reyes and the existing vacancies for the chief justice post and the seat left vacant by the appointment of Associate Justice Samuel Martires as Ombudsman paved the way for the new composition of the three divisions.

The SC’s First Division will now be chaired by Justice Diosdado Peralta with Justices Mariano del Castillo, Francis Jardeleza, Noel Tijam and Alexander Gesmundo as members.

The Second Division will be chaired by Acting Chief Justice Antonio Carpio with Justices Estela Perlas-Bernabe, Alfredo Benjamin Caguioa, Andres Reyes Jr. and Jose Reyes as members.

- Advertisement -

Associate Justice Teresita Leonardo-de Castro will chair the Third Division, with the following as members: Justices Lucas Bersamin, Marvic Mario Victor Leonen, Gesmundo and Andres Reyes Jr.

De Castro is the current second most senior justice in the SC next to Carpio, while Peralta is the third most senior justice.

- Advertisement -


Popular Articles