26.7 C
Saturday, March 2, 2024

Standhardinger, Fajardo form scary SMB frontline

- Advertisement -

AS EXPECTED, Christian Standhardinger was called first as San Miguel Beer officially made him the top pick in the 2017 Philippine Basketball Association Draft yesterday at Robinson’s Place Manila.

The gritty Filipino-German was the consensus choice as the No. 1 pick in pre-draft scouting and the projection was certainly on point.

San Miguel Beer dealt away three players, along with its 2019 first round pick just to get the first selection, where it ended up taking Standhardinger.

The No. 2 selection didn’t present any surprise as well as two-time UAAP Most Valuable Player Kiefer Ravena was taken by NLEX with its pick.

Christian Standhardinger

Blackwater went big with the No. 3 pick as it took versatile big man Raymar Jose, the latest MVP in the PBA D-League.

- Advertisement -

Jason Perkins was taken at No. 4 by Phoenix, Jeron Teng ended up with Alaska at No. 5, Robert Herndon followed at No. 6 (GlobalPort), Rey Nambatac at No. 7 (Rain or Shine), Sidney Onwibere came at No. 8 (Phoenix), Lervin Flores was chosen at No. 10 (Star), Mac Tallo and Jon Gabriel were picked at No. 10 and 11, respectively, both for TNT KaTropa. The first round ended with newly crowned Governors’ Cup champion Barangay Ginebra taking shooter Jett Manuel at No. 12.

Standhardinger will first need to finish his obligations with Hong Kong in the Asean Basketball League before he can formally take his talents to the PBA.

He is bound to join the already stacked and star-studded San Miguel frontcourt of four-time Most Valuable Player June Mar Fajardo, Arwind Santos and Marcio Lassiter in the already-loaded Beermen roster.

“I’m just so grateful that I can play in the PBA and for San Miguel. I’m looking forward to start,” said Standhardinger.

For Ravena, he is projected to be one of the focal points of NLEX’s offense as the Road Warriors aim to continue their improvement next season.

“I’m so overwhelmed. Pangarap ko na talaga itong makarating sa PBA since bata pa ako and dumating na siya,” said Ravena.

In the second round, John Grospe was taken first at No. 13 by NLEX, followed by Joseph Gabayni at No. 14 (Star), Emil Palma at No. 15 (Blackwater), Julian Sargent at No. 16 (Star), Louie Vigil at No. 17 (San Miguel), Davon Potts at No. 18 (Alaska), Jom Sollano at No. 19 (Rain or Shine), Gwyne Capacio at No. 20 (Star), Jason Grimaldo at No. 21 (Phoenix), Monbert Arong at No. 22 (TNT), Wilson Baltazar at No. 23 (Phoenix) and Andreas Cahilig (GlobalPort) at No. 24.

- Advertisement -


Popular Articles