Paragua leads field in online chess tourney

Grandmaster Mark Paragua will be the man to beat in the Woman Fide Master Sheerie Joy Lomibao-Beltran 41st birthday celebration online chess tournament on August 4, 2020, Tuesday, 1 p.m. (Philippine time) at

The 36-year-old New York, US-based Paragua is the winningest Filipino player in the free registration by invitation online chess tournament. 

The 1998 World Rapid Under 14 champion won the 1st Philippine Bullet Chess Championship, Curly King Shark online chess tournament and Week 10 of the National Blitz League Royal Rumble Arena. He pocketed P30,000 when he topped the 1st Philippine Bullet Chess Championship Grand Finals.

Challenging Paragua are GMs Rogelio “Joey” Antonio Jr., Darwin Laylo and Arizona, US-based Rogelio “Banjo” Barcenilla Jr. There will also be International Masters Barlo Nadera, Ronald Dableo, Oliver Dimakiling, John Marvin Miciano, Roel Abelgas, Emmanuel Senador, Michael Concio Jr. and Kim Steven Yap, Fide Masters David Elorta, Dale Bernardo, Narquingden Reyes, Mark Jay Bacojo, Jonathan Tan, Alexander Lupian and Randy Segarra, National Master Robert Arellano, Jasper Rom, Leon Marohom, Noel Dela Cruz and Zulfikar Sali.

Also set to fight for their place are Woman International Master Kylene Jor Mordido, Woman Fide Masters Antonella Berthe Racasa, Cherry Ann Mejia and Jerlyn Mae San Diego, Woman National Master Francois Marie Magpily, Ernie,  Jasper, Jerick Faeldonia, Noel Jay Estacio, Jeffrey Pascual, Abel Dimalanta, Dr. Jenny Mayor, National Para games coach James Infiesto and coach Ederwin Estavillo.

Also playing are Arena Grandmasters Henry Roger Lopez and Joseph Galindo, Dg Cruz, Sherwin Tiu, Kevin Arquero, Tyrone Delos Santos, Ricky Batcho, Recarte Tiuason, Jaime Criste, Ritche Jocson, Ivan Travis Cu, Angele Tenshi Biete, Oshrie Jhames Reyes, Bonjoure Fille Suyamin, Jeremy and Jersey Marticio, Ariel Santander, Doodeel “Dudz “ Libongcogon, Jed Abudanza, Israel Landicho and Eduardo Campos Jr.

“As long as there is Covid, this is the format where chess players will spend their time,” said Genghis Imperial of the organizing Bayanihan Chess Club headed by Arena Grandmaster Marlon Bernardino.

“No Chess Engine and No Human Assistance or Piloting in this invitational event,” he added.

The deadline for the submission of entries on August 1. Please message Genghis Imperial at his Facebook account for complete details.

Topics: Mark Paragua , Sheerie Joy Lomibao-Beltran , 1st Philippine Bullet Chess Championship , Rogelio “Joey” Antonio Jr. , Darwin Laylo , Curly King Shark online chess tournament , National Blitz League Royal Rumble Arena
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA