Canlubang crowned PAL Sr. Golf champ for 11th time

Bacolod City—Canlubang edged Luisita by four shots to win the 34th Philippine Airlines Senior Interclub golf team championship Saturday at the Negros Occidental Golf and Country Club.

Canlubang crowned PAL Sr. Golf champ for 11th time
Canlubang won its 11th championship crown at the 34th Philippine Airlines Senior Interclub golf team championships Saturday in Bacolod City. Shown in the photo (standing from left) are Zaldy Villa, Jun Bernis, Damasus Wong, Rene Unson, Abe Rosal, Rolly Viray, Tony Olives, Tommy Manotoc and Boyet Zaragosa. Seated are Yvette de Leon-Manotoc and Jose Mari Hechanova.
Abe Rosal led Canlubang’s balanced scoring with 47 points as Luisita buckled under pressure.

Zaldy Villa added 46 while the 45 of either Damasus Wong or Rolly Viray counted for Canlunbang which finished with 564 points for its 11th crown.

“This victory is for our boss, Luigi (Yulo),” said Canlubang captain Tony Olives, referring to the team’s owner who is still recovering from illness.

“We held together as a team and our scores would show.”

In contrast, Luisita only had two players to break 40—Eddie Bagtas and Demetrio Saclot who fired 48 and 47, respectively.

Jingy Tuason counted with 39 points while Chino Raymundo did not with 37.

“The team tried its best but our players just fell short,” said Luisita skipper Jeric Hechanova. “Canlubang handled the pressure better in the last few holes and deserved to win.”

NOGCC and Cebu Country Club (CCC) shared third place with 537 apiece.

NOGCC collected 137 points from Edwin Ordonez (49), Antonio de Leon (45) and Chito Garcia (43) to catch up with CCC.

CCC leaned on Carl Almario (48), Jufil Sato (42) and Eric Deen (41) for 131 points.

In the Founders division, Del Monte posted a runaway 24-point win over Eagle Ridge following a closing 137 at NOGCC.

Raul Minoza shot a tournament-best 54 points to lead Del Monte while Florencio Badelic and Erning Apas added 42 and 41, respectively as Del Monte amassed 548 points.

Eagle Ridge drew 51 from Danilo Cruz, 44 from Dong Hee Kim and 41 from Tony Mendoza to finish with 136 and 524 total.

The Orchard settled for third place with 519. Scoring for the team were Jock Stacey 47, Louie Garcia 41 and Luis Sajorda 38.

Hosted by the Philippine Airlines, the international event was backed by platinum sponsors Asian Air Safari, Vanguard Radio Network, Fox Networks Group, Radio Mindanao Network, Inc., Asian Journal Publications Philippines, Inc., Auto Nation Group, Inc. (Mercedes Benz), and SMDC.

Major sponsors include The Boeing Company, University of Mindanao Broadcasting Network, Avolon Aerospace Singapore Pte Ltd, Manila Broadcasting Company, Primax Broadcasting, Rolls-Royce Singapore Pte Ltd, CIGNAL TV Inc., Travellers International Hotel Group Inc. (Resorts World), and Airbus.

Other supporters are Uniglobe Travelware Co., Inc. (The Travel Club), Philippine Manila Standard Publishing Inc. (Manila Standard), Officine Corporation, GE Aviation, SEDA Hotels, BDO Unibank, Smart Communications, Inc., People Asia Magazine, A+E Networks Asia (History), Allianz PNB Life, Phoenix Petroleum Philippines, Tanduay Brands, Rockwell Land Corporation, Petron Corporation, Splash Corporation, AB Heineken Philippines Inc., and Asia Brewery Inc. —Summit.

Topics: Canlubang , Luisita , 34th Philippine Airlines Senior Interclub golf , Abe Rosal
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.