Ramirez named Executive of Year

For being at the helm of the country’s successful campaign in the 30th Southeast Asian Games, Team Philippines’ Chef De Mission William ‘Butch’ Ramirez is named the Executive of the Year in the SMC-PSA (Philippine Sportswriters Association) Annual Awards Night on March 6 at the Centennial Hall of the Manila Hotel.

Ramirez, who’s also the chairman of the Philippine Sports Commission, is credited for steering the Philippines in regaining the overall championship of the SEA Games after 14 years.

Chairman William I. Ramirez
The 1,115-strong Filipino athletes won a record haul of 149 gold, 117 silver, and 121 bronze medals, the most for the Philippines since it began participating in the meet in 1977.

Incidentally, Ramirez was also the PSC chief when the country first clinched the SEA Games overall title in 2005.

Ramirez joins an elite company that has been bestowed with the same award previously by the country’s oldest media organization, headed by president Tito S. Talao of the Manila Bulletin. The list includes the likes of Manny V. Pangilinan, Ramon S. Ang, Wilfred Uytengsu, Hans Sy, Ricky Vargas, Chito Salud, Jude Echauz, Dan Palami and Philip Ella Juico.

Ramirez joins the entire Team Philippines on centerstage during the awards night also presented by the PSC, MILO, Cignal TV, Philippine Basketball Association, Rain or Shine, and AirAsia as it will be the recipient of the prestigious Athlete of the Year award.

The country’s sportswriting fraternity will also be handing out trophies for the President’s Award, Executive of the Year, and the National Sports Association of the Year.

Other awards include Ms. Basketball, Mr. Volleyball, Ms. Golf, Mr. Football, and Coach of the Year.

There will also be recipients of Major Awards, Lifetime Achievement Award, Tony Siddayao Awards, MILO Junior Athletes Award, and citations to be led by the SEA Games gold medal winners.

Meanwhile, sports personalities who passed away last year will also be accorded with a posthumous recognition.

Topics: 30th Southeast Asian Games , Team Philippines , Chef De Mission , William ‘Butch’ Ramirez , Executive of the Year , Philippine Sportswriters Association , SMC-PSA Annual Awards Night
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1