Collegiate bets Ilustre, Jacinto make PH team

Top collegiate bets Maurice Sacho Ilustre and Jerard Dominic Jacinto have officially earned slots to the national swimming team seeing action in the 30th Southeast Asian Games.

Their names were included in a list that was finalized this week by the Philippine Swimming, Inc.

Ilustre and Jacinto, who swim for La Salle in the University Athletic Association of the Philippines, are now part of the national men’s squad, according to PSI president Lailani Velasco after the PSI deliberated on the nominations at the first Philippine National Open Swimming Championships in Capas, Tarlac last week.

The 20-year-old Ilustre got his slot in the men’s 200m Freestyle event when he  finished on top with a gold medal time of 1:53.59, upsetting  Olympian Jessie Lacuna who timed 1:54.22 for the silver.

He is now the third member of the 4x100m freestyle relay team, after Ilustre was seen as the third fastest swimmer in the 100m freestyle event.

His victory and his time in the 200m freestyle event finals also gave Ilustre an individual post and a slot at the 200m freestyle relay team, along with Lacuna, Miguel Barreto and John-Pierre Khouzam.

After having broken Ryan Papa’s longtime national record, Jacinto dominated the 50m Backstroke event where he clocked a personal best time of 26.19 en route to a gold-medal finish.

Because of this Jacinto will be swimming, alongside Jaden Olson, who registered a SEA Games QT time of 26.18 seconds.

Jacinto is now the current national record holder of the 100m backstroke event, after also smashing Papa’s long standing record.

On the other hand, Olson is the current national record holder of the 50m backstroke event.

Making up the rest of the national men’s team are Miguel Barreto, Jonathan Cook, James Deiparine, Luke Gebbie, Jarod Hatch, Jean Pierre Khouzam, Lacuna, Thomas Peregrina, Alberto Batungbacal and Rian Tirol.

Jasmine Alkhaldi is back in the national women’s team with Xiandi Chua, Thanya de la Cruz, Chloe Isleta, Desirae Mangaoang, Nicole Oliva, Jacqueline Pak, Georgia Peregrina, Miranda Renner, Joy Rodgers, Remedy Rule, Rosalee Sta. Ana and Roxanne Yu.

Topics: Maurice Sacho Ilustre , Jerard Dominic Jacinto , Philippine Swimming Inc , Lailani Velasco , Philippine National Open Swimming Championships
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Working Pillars of the House