Mordido, Suede share National Women’s championship chess lead

Former Shell National Youth active chess champion Kylen Joy Mordido and former Asian junior girls titlist Mikee Charlene Suede pulled off back-to-back victories in the second and third rounds to keep a share of the lead in the 2019 National Women’s Championship—Grand Finals at the Philippine Academy for Chess Excellence, located at Mindanao Ave., in Project 6, Quezon City.

Mordido, who made history by becoming the first female player to capture the Shell National Youth championship in 2017, defeated WCM Mira Mirano in the second round and WIM Catherine Perena-Secopito in the following round keep her perfect record with three wins in as many matches.

The Dasmarinas High School standout debuted with a resounding victory over May Ann Alcantara in the first round last Wednesday.

Equally impressive was Suede, who followed up her marathon first-round triumph over Natori Biazza Diaz with a sweep of Alcantara and MIrano.

The 3/3 score enabled Mordido and Suede to take a half point lead over WIM Marie Antoinette San Diego and WFM Shania Mae Mendoza going into the fourth round of this 14-player tournament organized by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines, headed by President/Chairman Prospero “Butch” Pichay and supported by the Philippine Sports Commission, led by Chairman William “Butch” Ramirez.

San Diego halved the point with WIM JAnJodiylN Fronda in the second round late Wednesday and won over Rizalyn Jasmine Tejada in the third round the mornig after.

Mendoza drew with Secopito and won over untitled Samantha Umayan.

Three players—top seed WGM Janelle Mae Frayna, WIM Bernadette Galas and Fronda—share fifth to seventh places with 2/3.

Frayna settled for a draw with WFM Allaney Jia Doroy in the third round following a win over Umayan the previous round.

Galas defeated Diaz and drew with Alcantara, while Fronda split the point with San Diego and won over Diaz.

Doroy is in solo eighth place with 1.5 points on one win, one draw and one loss so far.

Tournament director GM Jayson Gonzales said at stake in the tournament are slots to the Philippine team to the World Chess Olympiad scheduled Aug. 1-15, 2020 in Khanty-Mansiysk, Russia.

The champion in the standard chess competition will also receive the top prize of P25,000 and trophy.

The runner-up will receive P15,000, the third placer will earn P10,000 and fourth placer P5,000.

Supervising arbiter is Gene Poliarco.

Topics: Kylen Joy Mordido , Mikee Charlene Suede , Philippine Academy for Chess Excellence , Rizalyn Jasmine Tejada
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA