Southwoods tops Founders’ Division at PAL golf

Cebu City—Manila Southwoods captured the Founders division of the just-ended 33rd Philippine Airlines Senior Interclub golf team championships Saturday.

The Carmona-based squad collected 143 points at the Alta Vista Golf Club for 530 overall, 12 points ahead of Valley Golf Club.

Theody Pascual led Southwoods with 52 points and got solid support from Ryan Abdon (48) and Bong Sison (43).

Valley matched Southwoods’ final round score behind Eddy Manzanares (52), Abraham dela Cruz (46) and Jimmy Dy (45) to edge third placer Riviera Golf by just two points.

Riviera managed only 130 points through Chanyeong Gim (46), Efren Alvez (42) and Manuel Salgado (42) to settle for third place, a point ahead of Negros Occidental.

It was Manila Southwoods’ first win in the second-tier division.

“We are happy to win, but we’re still a long way to go to compete with the big boys,” said Thirdy Escano who made his seniors debut with Southwoods.

Other members of the Southwoods championship squad are Alexander Ignacio, Judd Roy, Danny Samaniego and John Bayani Fontanilla III.

In the Aviator division, Fil-Am Hawaii assembled 481 points to beat Zamboanga Golf (473) and Team Coral Ocean Point (472).

The winning team is composed of Jhonito Bajuyo, Reynaldo Cabato, Billy Galindo, Wilfred Pacpaco, Pat Viernes, Gem Matas, Richard Ped and Romeo Pacpaco.

The other division winners were Baguio Country Club (441) in the Sportswriter and EZ Par Golf Club (395) in the Friendship.

Making up BCC are Mar Bustos, Sammy Diciano, Mars Garcia, Edgar Dirige, Benito Ang, Herr Bautista, Ismael Basabica and Ramon Aldana.

EZ Par, on the other hand, is composed of Ping Abela, Jimmy de Guzman, Cesar Lopez, Edgar Sagisi, Victor Zalamea, Luminarias Roberto, Oscar Asuncion and Cesar Cajigas.

This year’s Interclub is sponsored by Radio Mindanao Network, Asian Air Safari, and Vanguard Radio Network. Also extending support are ABS-CBN Global Ltd. (The Filipino Channel), Rolls Royce, Primax Broadcasting Network, UM Broadcasting Network (Mindanao), Fox Sports, Cignal TV, GECAS, Boeing, Lufthansa Technik AG, Manila Standard, Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, Dusit Thani Manila, and Casino Filipino. Official hotel is Quest Hotel Conference Center Cebu.

Luisita won the championship division over rival Canlubang with Del Monte finishing third.

The individual title was won by former pro Dan Cruz of Eagleridge who posted 104 points, edging Dong Jin Tak of Orchard and Eric Deen of Cebu Country Club by three.

Topics: Manila Southwoods , 33rd Philippine Airlines Senior Interclub , Alta Vista Golf Club , Valley Golf Club
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1