Racasa plows way to age group crown

The country’s youngest Woman Fide Master (WFM) Antonella Berthe “Tonelle” Murillo Racasa dominated the girls 12-and-under category for the Visayas leg of the 2019 National Age Group Chess Championships Saturday in SM Seaside Cebu.

The top seed Racasa defeated Aeralyn Sinining after 30 moves of Yugoslav attack of the Sicilian skirmish in the seventh and final round to finish undefeated with perfect seven wins in as many rounds.

The 11-year-old Mandaluyong City bet Racasa whose stint here is being supported by Past President of Rotary Club of Pasig engineer Rogelio Lim of Boni Tower and Hotel Sogo, overwhelmed her foes on the checkered board, pocketing a cash prize of P3,000, plus a medal,  certificate and grand finals slot for dominating the girls 12-and-under category.

Racasa scored victories over 17th seed Jesly Ana Tatoy in the first round, 8th seed Hannah Lynne Jumao-As in the second round, 4th seed Kimberly Colaste in the third round, 2nd seed Ruelle Canino in the fourth round, 7th seed Arleah Cassandra Sapuan in the fifth round and Lyn Getubig in the sixth and penultimate round.

On the other hand, Samantha Babol Umayan of Davao City reigned supreme in the girls 14-and-under category.

A student of Far Eastern University in Manila, Umayan said she has been a consistent participant of the age group qualifying tournament. Umayan finished 5.5 points in seven outings.

Sharing the limelight is Vic Glysen Derotas II of Cebu, one of the top players of National University Team manager Samson Go and United states chess master coach Jose “Jojo” Aquino who won the girls 18-and-under category who totes 6.5 points.

Other notable top notcher are Zhaoyu Capilitan (7.0 points, girls 8 and under category), Lj Getubig (6.5 points, girls 10 and under category), Me Ann Joy Baclayon (5.5 points, girls 16 and under category), Jinky Catulay (6.0 points, girls 20 and under category), Quarl Maverick Vera Cruz (4.5 points, boys 8 and under category), Vincent Ryu Dimayuga (7.0 points, boys 10 and under category), Lance Danniele Aquito (6.0 points, boys 12 and under category), Jerish John Velarde (6.5 points, boys 14 and under category), Clyde Harris Saraos (5.5 points, boys 16 and under category).

The tourney was organized by Eduard Dela Torre and sanctioned by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines. NCFP executive director Red Dumuk served as tournament director. He was assisted by chief arbiter IA Wilfredo Neri, deputy chief arbiter Michael Joseph Pagaran and FNA Ronnie Tabudlong.​

Topics: Aeralyn Sinining , Woman Fide Master , Antonella Berthe Murillo Racasa , Rogelio Lim , Eduard Dela Torre , National Chess Federation of the Philippines , Samson Go
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.