Solidarity in the time of COVID-19 -- MS Supplement

Local, Thai aces brace for LPGT John Hay duel

The cream of the local crop and a slew of Thai aces gear up for three days of battle of shotmaking, iron play and wits when the ICTSI Camp John Hay Ladies Championship is fired off tomorrow (Wednesday, Oct. 10) at John Hay Golf Club in Baguio City.

Local, Thai aces brace for LPGT John Hay duel
Princess Superal
Former winners Princess Superal and Cyna Rodriguez banner the local charge along with Daniella Uy, Marvi Monsalve and Chihiro Ikeda while this year’s Ladies Philippine Golf Tour’s Mt. Malarayat leg champion Onkanok Soisuwan heads the 12-player strong Thai contingent in the P1.5 million event put up by ICTSI which serves as the second of the new LPGT season.

That guarantees a spirited charge for top honors in the 54-hole championship which is making its return to the LPGT calendar after Rodriguez beat Thai Amolkan Phalajivin by 11 shots to win in 2014.

Superal, then an amateur, humbled the local pros to rule the inaugural staging in 2013 with a record 17-under total at the par-69 up-and-down layout with the former US Girls Junior champion blossoming to become one of the country’s players.

She hopes to figure in the early chase this week, eager to atone for her tied for 16th place finish in LPGT and Taiwan LPGA Tour co-sanctioned Party Golfer Ladies Open in Taiwan last week where Soisuwan finished at joint 20th.

But a slew of others are also tipped to contend for top honors this week, including TLPGA Tour campaigners Marvi Monsalve and rookie pro Daniella Uy and Ikeda, who won the LPGT Eagle Ridge title early in the season.

Soisuwan, meanwhile, will be joined in by a crack crew that includes Supakchaya Pattaranakrueang, Jaruporn P Na Ayutthaya, Numa Gulyanamitta, Chakansim Khamborn, Chommapat Pongthanarak, Goonlacha Paiboonpong, Kamonwan Lueamsri, Chouvarest Chourkittisopon, Omicha Konsunthea, Patraporn Kratururk and Waralee Atcharerk.

Other local pros vying in the event organized by Pilipinas Golf Tournaments, Inc. and backed by Custom Clubmakers, BDO, Meralco, Sharp, KZGm PLDT, Champion, Summit Mineral Water and K&G Golf are former LPGT winner Sarah Ababa, Alex Etter, Apple Fudolin, Gretchen Villacencio and Sheryl Villasencio.

Joining the title hunt are 11 amateurs, led by The Country Club mainstays Sofia Chabon, Mafy Singson, Samantha Dizon, Eagle Ace Superal, Arnie Taguines and Laia Barro, Kristine Torralba, Marianne Bustos, Sunshine Baraquiel, Mariel Tee and Korean Lee Ji Hyeon

Topics: CTSI Camp John Hay Ladies Championship , Princess Superal , Cyna Rodriguez , Daniella Uy , Marvi Monsalve , Chihiro Ikeda , Amolkan Phalajivin , Pilipinas Golf Tournaments
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Working Pillars of the House