27.8 C
Thursday, November 30, 2023

PhilCycling holds national road tourney in Tagaytay

The PhilCycling National Road Championships for 2019 unwrap July 23 and 24 in Tagaytay City with stakeholders from the private sector pooling their support for the final event that would determine the composition of the cycling team to the 30th Southeast Asian Games.

PhilCycling president Rep. Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino said competitions will be in massed start (road race), individual time trial (ITT) and  team time trial (TTT) for Men and Women Elite and Junior (17-18 years old).

The country’s elite riders are expected to race for the coveted national champions jerseys in the Men Elite and Under-23 18-km ITT; Women Elite and Under-23 and Men and Women Junior 12-km ITT; Men Elite 40-km TTT; Women Elite and Under-23 and Men and Women Junior 91.35-km Road Race; and Men Elite and Under-23 132.08-km Road Race.

Standard Insurance is throwing its full support for the championships along with Go For Gold, One LGC (Air21, Ube Media Inc. and IWMI), MVP Sports Foundation and 7-Eleven Cliqq Air21 by Roadbike Philippines.

Registration is only through online via national coach Ednalyn Calitis Hualda’s facebook page. Riders with International Cycling Union licenses—which could obtained through PhilCycling director Jojo Villa’s facebook page-will be allowed to race.

The national championships for youth men and women—aged 16 and under—will be incorporated in the Batang Pinoy National Finals in Puerto Princesa next month.

Tagaytay City will also be the main hub of the 30th SEA Games cycling competitions which also includes mountain bike and BMX race and freestyle.

- Advertisement -


Popular Articles