27.5 C
Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Go taken no. 1 in Gilas Draft; Adams 1st in Regular Draft

Just as expected, Isaac Go was the first name called in the 2019 Philippine Basketball Association Draft held in Robinson’s Place Manila in Ermita yesterday.

MYTHICAL FIVE. At the end of the two-day Gatorade-PBA Draft Combine on Friday, Rey Suerte, Rey Publico, Mike Ayonayon, Roosevelt Adams and Cris Bitoon were named to the Mythical Five of the rookie camp’s mini tournament. Also in photo are (from left) Coach Biboy Ravanes, Governor Robert Non, William Koo (Head of Operations of Watchworks), SMB PBA Commissioner Willie Marcial and IC Sta. Maria (Marketing Manager, Gatorade).

In a special five-player Gilas Draft preceding the Regular Draft, Columbian Dyip selected Go from Ateneo De Manila.

For the second pick, Rey Suerte was tapped by Blackwater, while NLEX took Matt Nieto. Rounding out the Gilas Five Draft were Allyn Bulanadi for Alaska and Mike Nieto, who was selected by Rain or Shine.

These five cagers will be loaned to Gilas Pilipinas in its preparations for the 2023 FIBA World Cup and their rights will be with the teams who respectively drafted them.

In the Regular Draft, it was Filipino-American Roosevelt Adams, who was taken first overall also by Columbian Dyip.

Fellow Fil-Am Maurice Shaw followed suit at No. 2 as he was taken by the Elite. The Road Warriors took Myk Ayonayon with its third pick, the Aces had Barkley Ebona at No. 4 and the Elasto Painters got Adrian Wong at No. 5.

The following rounded out the first round: No. 6 Clint Doliguez (Rain or Shine), No. 7 Prince Rivero (Rain or Shine), No. 8 Sean Manganti (NorthPort), No. 9 Aris Dionisio (Magnolia), No. 10 Arvin Tolentino (Barangay Ginebra), No. 11 Kib Montalbo (TNT) and No. 12 Christian Balagasay (Columbian).

In the second round, Letran star Jerrick Balanza was taken No. 13 overall by the Gin Kings, No. 14 was Richard Escoto (Blackwater), No. 15 Will McAloney (NLEX), No. 16 Rey Publico (Alaska), No. 17 JC Marcelino (Alaska), No. 18 Aaron Black (Meralco), No. 19 Vince Tolentino (Rain or Shine), No. 20 AC Soberano (NLEX), No. 21 Yankie Haruna (Magnolia), No. 22 Kent Salado (Barangay Ginebra), No. 23 Wendell Comboy (Rain or Shine) and No. 24 Renzo Subido (NorthPort).

For the third round, Bon Batiller was taken at No. 25 by Columbian, Cris Bitoon at No. 26 (Blackwater), Gelo Vito at No. 27 (NLEX), Ralph Tansingco at No. 28 (Phoenix), Mike Canete at No 29 (Meralco), Luke Parcero at No. 30 (Rain or Shine), Cris Dumapig at No. 31 (NorthPort), Alvin Capobres at No. 32 (Magnolia), Francesco Asuncion at No. 33 (Barangay Ginebra), Simon Camacho at No. 34 (TNT) and Travis Thompson at No. 35 (San Miguel).

The selected players can be signed up the teams, who drafted them.

Unsigned players will automatically become free agents, along with those who were not selected.

- Advertisement -


Popular Articles