National road cycling tilt breaches 100-rider mark

Registration for the PhilCycling 2019 National Road Championships set July 23 for the Road Races and July 24 for the Time Trial events in Tagaytay City breached the 100-rider mark in the Men Elite and Under-23 and Men Junior categories.

A total of 119 riders registered for the Men Elite and Under-23 Road Race (Massed Start) of the championships presented by Standard Insurance and Tagaytay City and supported by One LGC (Air21, Ube Media Inc. and IWMI), Go For Gold, MVP Sports Foundation, Bike-X Singapore and 7-Eleven Cliqq Air21 by Roadbike Philippines.

In the Men Junior (17-18 years old) Road Race, 101 riders registered hoping to follow the tracks of their idols—including former Tour champions Mark John Lexer Galedo, El Joshua Carino, Ronald Oranza and Jan Paul Morales—all national riders who are staking their slots on the team to the 30th Southeast Asian Games the country is hosting in December.

“The figures [registration] is proof that cycling is very much alive in the Philippines, thanks to our sport’s stakeholders,” PhilCycling President and Tagaytay City Rep. Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino said.

The Men Elite and Under-23 Individual Time Trial (ITT) lured 68 riders, all of whom are also competing in the Road Race, and the Men Junior attracted 43 aspirants in the race that is calendared in the International Cycling Union or UCI.

The Women Elite Road Race drew 12 riders and all 12 are also vying in the ITT of the championships where 12 teams have registered for the Men Elite Team Time Trial.

The Men Elite and Under-23 ITT will cover 18 kms and the Road Race 132.08 kms, the Women Elite and Men Junior ITT will be 12 kms and the Road Race will be 91.35 kms, while the Men Elite TTT will be 40 kms.

The championships main hub will be at the Praying Hands (Tagaytay City International Convention Center) on Aguinaldo Highway. The Road Races and time trial events will pass through Batangas’s First District—Agoncillo, Balayan, Calaca, Laurel, Lemery, Lian, Nasugbu, Talisay and Tuy.

Topics: PhilCycling 2019 National Road Championships , Mark John Lexer Galedo , El Joshua Carino , Ronald Oranza , Jan Paul Morales
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA