Dormitorio, Surban top MTB meet

Nino Surban and Ariana Dormitorio raced to expected victories and two youngsters displayed strong potentials as competitive cycling emphatically returned over the weekend in the PhilCycling National Trials for MTB in Danao City.

Surban, men’s cross-country silver medalist in the 2019 Southeast Asian Games, conquered the six-lap highly-technical 3-km track atop the challenging hills of Sitio Bugho in Barangay Sandayong Sur to win the Men Elite gold medal in one hour, 22 minutes and 11.21 seconds.

Jericho Rivera crossed the uphill finish some two and a half minutes after Surban to settle for the silver medal, while Mark Louwel Valderama was more than a minute back for the bronze medal.

Dormitorio was as dominating in the women’s race—a shorter five-loop ride also over a 3-km loop—and won the gold medal in 1:29:50.75.

Nicole Quinones, daughter of Vietnam 2003 Men’s MTB gold medalist Eusebio Quinones, raced her first Women’s Elite race and bagged the silver medal with a 1:42:12.89 clocking. Pamela Jane Ruiz clinched bronze in 1:48:25.24.

“Cycling is back,” PhilCycling head Rep. Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino, also the Philippine Olympic Committee president, said. “It’s more than a year since we have an official and this competition in Danao City marks our sport’s return.

Health and safety protocols were enforced in the event through the local government of Danao City, the Regional Task Force and the Department of Health.

“The results showed our cyclists stayed in competitive form even during the pandemic. Everyone wanted to return to action,” said Oscar “Boying” Rodriguez, PhilCycling vice chairman and MTB commission head. He also chairs the Danao City Sports Commission.

Rodriguez and former congressman Ramon “Red” Durano Durano awarded the medals to the winners.

The Ronda Pilipinas was the last to be raced before the pandemic struck in March 2020.

Young cyclists also showed potentials to be next in line as national team members.

Gart Gaerlan topped the Men’s Junior race (four laps, 12.4 kms) in 1:03.27.73, followed by Marvin Dave Cerilo (2:07.32 behind) and another Quinones, Matthew Simon (6:08.12 behind).

Athena Marie Magpantay, the Batang Pinoy champion in Puerto Princesa in 2018, remained in top form and ruled the Women’s Junior category in 1:11:11.44. Jasmin Philsen Babol (1:20:26.26) and Alianah Therese Velasco (1:24:03:09) completed the podium.

The age group winners were Julius Raphael Cabatingin (11-12), Jhon Andry Labuga (13-14) and again Gaerlan (15-16) in the boys class and Magpantay (15-16) in the girls’ race.

Next up on the PhilCycling calendar is the National Trials For Road on July 9 and 10 in Clark Pampanga.

Topics: Nino Surban , Ariana Dormitorio , PhilCycling National Trials for MTB

Related stories:

No related stories matched this topic.

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA