De Asis scores tennis double

Kiana De Asis hacked out two victories in contrasting fashions while Fernando Po pulled off a win and a runner-up finish as they shared MVP honors in the PPS-PEPP Iloilo regional age-group tennis tournament at the Ultra Tennis Courts recently.

The 16-year-old De Asis bounced back a second set defeat and wore down Althea Martirez in the tiebreak, 6-3, 2-6, 12-10, to rule her age bracket then the La Carlota star dominated Avril Suace, 6-3, 6-1, to claim the girls’ 18-and-under crown in the Group 2 tournament sponsored by Palawan Pawnshop-Palawan Express Pera Padala headed by president/CEO Bobby Castro and presented by Dunlop.

The fifth-ranked Po, on the other hand, shocked top seed Drixcyn Guillano, 6-4, 6-1, to snare the boys’ 16-U diadem but failed to match De Asis’ feat with a 6-3, 1-0(ret.) loss to No. 1 and fellow Bacolodnon Reynan Mahusay in the premier division of the week-long event backed by Asiatraders Corp. and sanctioned by the Unified Tennis Philippines, made up of PPS-PEPP, Cebuana Lhuillier, Wilson, Toby’s, Dunlop, Slazenger and B-Meg.

Unseeded Jan Roger Lamparero from Cabatuan also carved out a big win in the 14-U side, upending the top seeded Guillano, 7-5, 6-1, in the semis then trouncing Alekzander Po, 6-1, 6-1, for the crown while Martirez, from LaPaz, Iloilo, atoned for her loss to De Asis by taking the girls’ 14-U title via a 6-4, 6-3 triumph over Faith Banico.

Kalibo, Aklan’s Ronald Rey and Banico from Siquijor shared the 12-U honors with the former blasting Jeff Jimenea, 6-2, 6-3, and the latter rebounding from an earlier loss with a 6-2, 6-2 victory over young Therese Gauran from Tayasan, Negros Oriental.

Gauran, meanwhile, took the 10-unisex plum with a 4-2, 4-1 romp over Alexandra Onte.

De Asis actually came away with a third crown as she teamed up with Tracy Lllamas to beat Rizza Cubos and Princess Jimenez, 8-3, in the 18-U doubles finals with Mahusay and Arvin Toledo claiming the boys’ title with an 8-5 victory over Prince Dimate and Marven Mosquera.

Guillano also partnered with Angelo Mejia as they won the 14-U title with an 8-5 decision over Jeff Jimenea and Jan Lamparero while Ma. Petrina Aguirre and Faith Blanco bagged the girls’ plum with an 8-0 rout of Alecka Cruzata and Mary Mondragon, and Davienne Gauran and Aleeva Suace nailed the 10-U diadem with an 8-1 triumph over Francis De Juan and Alexandra Onte.

Topics: Kiana De Asis , Palawan Pawnshop-Palawan Express Pera Padala , Bobby Castro , Drixcyn Guillano , Angelo Mejia
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA