Volley stars renew rivalry in Shakey’s V-League

ATENEO stars Alyssa Valdez and Denden Lazaro renew their rivalry with former La Salle counterparts Michelle Gumabao and Melissa Gohing when they play for Bali Pure and Pocari Sweat, respectively, in the 13th Shakey’s V-League Open Conference starting on May 28 at The Arena in San Juan City.

The country’s longest and premier women’s volley league will actually hold its opening rites tomorrow at The Arena City to introduce all the participating teams and players but matches will only start next Sunday.

Valdez and Lazaro will spearhead Bali Pure, which also includes former Ateneo stars Dzi Gervacio, Bea Tan, Charo Soriano, Amy Ahomiro and Mary Mae Tajima and reigning NCAA MVP Gretchel Soltones.

Ateneo star Alyssa Valdez, shown here hoisting her MVP trophy, will rekindle her rivalry with collegiate counterparts Michelle Gumabao and Melissa Gohing in the coming Shakey’s V-League Open Conference.
Other members of the squad are Karla Bello, Janine Marciano, Alyssa Eroa and Ivana Agbayani with Soriano, who heads the Beach Volleyball Republic, as playing coach.

Gumabao and Gohing, who beat Valdez and Lazaro for the UAAP crown in their last two seasons with La Salle in 2012-13, will banner an equally impressive Pocari Sweat crew that also features the likes of Myla Pablo, Elaine Kasilag, Gyselle Sy, Siemens Dadang and Rossan Fajardo.

Pocari will be coached by Thai Tai Bundit, Valdez and Lazaro’s mentor at Ateneo.

“We’re expecting an exciting conference with these eight teams,” said Ricky Palou, president of the organizing Sports Vision.

National U, a team headed by Jaja Santiago and Jorelle Singh with multi-titled Roger Gorayeb as coach, is also expected to contend for the crown while University of the Philippines, which defied the odds and made it to the UAAP Final Four this year, is also tipped to crowd the fancied teams for the crown in the league where it all started.

Completing the eight-team roster are KIA, Air Force, Baguio and Iriga City.

Meanwhile, six teams, led by Reinforced Conference champion Cignal TV, Inc. will vie in the second Spikers’ Turf season, an all-men league similar to the V-League, which also kicks off on May 28.

Topics: Alyssa Valdez , Denden Lazaro , Michelle Gumabao , Melissa Gohing , Bali Pure , Pocari Sweat , 13th Shakey’s V-League Open Conference
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Working Pillars of the House