ABS-CBN wins Star Awards’ Best TV Station

ABS-CBN won Best TV Station while its stars and shows also received recognition in the 34th Star Awards for Television held virtually by the Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) over the weekend.

ABS-CBN Integrated CorpComm head Kane Errol Choa receives ABS-CBN’s Best TV Station award.
Among the 24 other winners from the Kapamilya was series Pamilya Ko, which was named Best Primetime TV Series while its stars JM de Guzman and Sylvia Sanchez were hailed as Best Drama Actor and Best Drama Actress.

King of Talk Boy Abunda received the Ading Fernando Lifetime Achievement Award and won Best Public Affairs Program Host and Best Celebrity Talk Show Host for The Bottomline and Tonight With Boy Abunda, which then won Best Public Affairs Program and Best Celebrity Talk Show, respectively.

Ipaglaban Mo also won as Best Drama Anthology while It’s Showtime was chosen as Best Variety Show. It’s Showtime hosts Vice Ganda and Amy Perez took home honors as well as Best Male and Female TV Hosts, while Luis Manzano of I Can See Your Voice got Best Talent Search Program Host.

ABS-CBN News was also recipient of major awards in the event, which honored outstanding programs and performances from September 2019 to August 2020.

TV Patrol won Best News Program, Umagang Kay Ganda won Best Morning Show, Kim Atienza won Best Educational Program Host for Matanglawin, while Julius Babao won Best Male Newscaster for Bandila. 

Multi-awarded broadcast journalist Korina Sanchez-Roxas, who spent decades as anchor of many news and magazine shows in ABS-CBN like TV Patrol and Rated K was also presented with the Excellence in Broadcasting Lifetime Achievement Award. 

ABS-CBN’s young stars also shone this year led by Seth Fedelin, whose portrayal in the MMK episode “Ilog” was hailed as Best Single Performance by an Actor, and Kaori Oinuma, whose performance in the “Mata” episode clinched her Best New Female TV Personality win. Enzo Pelojero of Starla also won Best Child Performer while Seth and Andrea Brillantes received the German Moreno Power Tandem of the Year award.

ABS-CBN Foundation’s G Diaries added two trophies to ABS-CBN’s haul, winning Best Travel Show while host Ernie Lopez emerged as Best Travel Show Host.

Topics: ABS-CBN , Philippine Movie Press Club , 34th Star Awards for Television
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Working Pillars of the House