3rd EDDYS holds nominees night 

The Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd) is hosting its annual Nominees Night on June 15, 6:30 p.m., at Annabel’s Restaurant, Tomas Morato Avenue, Quezon City to give out certificates to all nominees in 14 categories in this year’s edition of the EDDYS.

3rd EDDYS holds nominees night 
The members and officers of the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors handed Aga Muhlach's  Best Actor nominee certificate during the inaugural Nominees Night of the prestigious EDDYS Awards. 
The Nominees Night—a run-up to the much-anticipated event celebrating the creatives, talented artists, and film workers who were nominated in the EDDYS—is in partnership with the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) led by its chairperson and CEO Liza Diño.

Meanwhile, the big night will happen on July 14 at New Frontier Theater (formerly KIA Theater) and will be telecast on Cignal TV’s Colours Channel on July 21.

Cignal TV is one of the major sponsors/presenters of the 3rd EDDYS while Echo Jham Entertainment, led by director Calvin Neria, is in charge of the production. 

Among the nominees in the Best Picture category are Citizen JakeGoyo: Ang Batang HeneralLiway, Rainbow’s Sunset, and Signal Rock.

In the Best Director race, Chito Roño (Signal Rock), Jerrold Tarog (Goyo), Joel Lamangan (Rainbow’s Sunset), Kip Oebanda (Liway), at Mike de Leon (Citizen Jake) are vying for the coveted award. 

Up for the Best Actress plum are Angelica Panganiban (Exes Baggage), Glaiza de Castro (Liway), Gloria Romero (Rainbow’s Sunset), Judy Ann Santos (Ang Dalawang Mrs. Reyes), Kathryn Bernardo (The Hows of Us), Nadine Lustre (Never Not Love You) and Sarah Geronimo (Miss Granny).

Piolo Pascual (Ang Panahon ng Halimaw), Carlo Aquino (Exes Baggage), Christian Bables (Signal Rock), Daniel Padilla (The Hows of Us), Dingdong Dantes (Sid & Aya: Not a Love Story), Paolo Contis (Through Night & Day) and Eddie Garcia (Rainbow’s Sunset) are competing for the Best Actor trophy. 

Apart from the major acting and technical awards, six special awards will be given out during the big night: The Joe Quirino Award will be handed to TV-radio host-columnist Cristy Fermin; Manny Pichel Award will be given to entertainment columnist and talent manager Ethel Ramos; Rising Producers’ Circle will be awarded to Spring Films and T-Rex Entertainment; Producer of the Year will go to  Star Cinema; Lifetime Achievement Award will be received by Elwood Perez; and a recognition will be given posthumously to the late Comedy King, Dolphy.

Carrying on the tradition of paying tribute to movie stars who have made an indelible mark in the industry through their significant bodies of work, this year’s Icon Awards will be conferred upon Amalia Fuentes, Tirso Cruz III, Christopher de Leon, Joseph Estrada, Eddie Gutierrez, Anita Linda, Dante Rivero, Celia Rodriguez, Vilma Santos, and Lorna Tolentino

As SPEEd joins in the celebration of the 100 years of Philippine Cinema, the group will also honor some of the industry’s “unsung heroes” who work behind the camera. This segment of the awards night will be anchored by TV host-journalist Lourd de Veyra.

The EDDYS aims to encourage local filmmakers, producers, writers, and actors to continue pursuing their passion for creating films that mirror the realities of our society.

The SPEEd is made up of entertainment editors of newspapers and tabloids circulated daily nationwide. 

The non-profit organization, established in 2015, is led by Ian F. Farinas as president and Isah V. Red as chairman emeritus.

Topics: Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors , Film Development Council of the Philippines , EDDYS , Liza Dino ,
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Working Pillars of the House