Solidarity in the time of COVID-19 -- MS Supplement

AlDub, GMA stars reap honors at PMPC Star Awards for TV

Several GMA Network personalities and programs were recognized at the 32nd Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) Star Awards for Television held on Oct. 14, at the Henry Lee Irwin Theater, Ateneo de Manila University.

AlDub, GMA stars reap honors at PMPC Star Awards for TV
PMPC Star Awards for TV named Alden Richards and Maine Mendoza as Best Television Hosts.
Leading the list of Kapuso winners were Eat Bulaga Dabarkads also took home awards. Phenomenal stars Alden Richards and Maine Mendoza were recognized as Best Male TV Host and Best Female TV Host, respectively. Joining them is Kendoll who took home the Best New Male TV Personality award.

Yasmien Kurdi was named as Best Drama Actress for her notable performance in the ground-breaking GMA advocacy series, Hindi Ko Kayang Iwan Ka.

Esteemed actor Gabby Eigenmann won the Best Drama Supporting Actor award for the series Contessa, while teen actress Kyline Alcantara was hailed as the Best Drama Supporting Actress for top-rating primetime soap Kambal, Karibal.

Heartthrob Ruru Madrid won the Best Performance by an Actor award for his role in Magpakailanman’s “Takbo Ng Buhay Ko” episode.

Child actor Seth Dela Cruz marked a milestone in his career by winning the Best Child Performer award for the soap Hindi Ko Kayang Iwan Ka.

Afternoon series Contessa, top billed by Glaiza de Castro, was named as the Best Daytime Drama Series, while family sitcom Pepito Manaloto was chosen as this year’s Best Comedy Show, and the Best Variety Show award went to Sunday Pinasaya.

Numerous GMA News and Public Affairs programs and personalities were also cited by the PMPC. 

GMA News pillar Arnold Clavio received the Excellence in Broadcasting Lifetime Achievement Award.

The country’s most-awarded news magazine program Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho added another feather to its cap as it received the Best Magazine Show award.

Top-notch documentary program I-Witness brought home the Best Documentary Program recognition, while its hosts Howie Severino, Kara David, Jay Taruc, Sandra Aguinaldo, and Atom Araullo, won as Best Documentary Program Hosts.

Meanwhile, Vicky Morales won as the Best Public Service Program Host for the country’s first and longest-running wish-granting program Wish Ko Lang.

Taking home the Best Morning Show Host award are Arnold Clavio, Rhea Santos, Ivan Mayrina, Connie Sison, Susan Enriquez, Suzi Entrata-Abrera, Lyn Ching-Pascual, Lhar Santiago, Love Añover-Llanko, Luane Dy, Nathaniel “Mang Tani” Cruz, Atty. Gaby Concepcion, Winnie Monsod, and Regine Tolentino for the country’s longest-running morning show Unang Hirit.

News anchor Raffy Tima was conferred the Best Male Newscaster award for GMA News TV’s Balitanghali.

The World of Gandang Ricky Reyes was once again awarded as this year’s Best Lifestyle Show while its host Ricky Reyes took home the Best Lifestyle Show Host award.

Special recognitions were to Ken Chan who was hailed the Frontrow Male Celebrity of the Night and the Male Face of the Night.

Organized by The Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) Inc., the PMPC Star Awards for TV is an annual award giving body that recognizes outstanding TV programs and personalities in the Philippines.  

Topics: Philippine Movie Press Club Star Awards , Alden Richards , Maine Mendoza , Kendoll , Gabby Eigenmann , Kyline Alcantara , GMA Network

Related stories:

No related stories matched this topic.

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.