NCCA SUDI Awards to honor outstanding contributions to Filipino music

Aiming to recognize outstanding contributions of Filipino musical works, creators, institutions, and researchers across genres and modes of productions with the highest standard and artistic excellence, the National Commission for Culture and the Arts is launching the 1st NCCA SUDI Awards. 

From left: (Front): Ryan Cayabyab, Twinky D. Lagdameo, Isabelle Tee; (Back) Mike L. Constantino, Bayang Barrios, Ma. Dinah Aguilar Remolacio, Noel Ferrer, Dr. Felipe de Leon, Jr., Nino Selibio, and Ferdinand Isleta
For its launch year, 2020, the SUDI Awards will recognize and honor the 19 most outstanding musical achievements (whether artist, musical piece, journal, music cultural worker, or music institution, but not limited to) that defined the last 20 years or past two decades.

For the first decade covering the years 2000 to 2009, there will be nine awardees and three special citations while the second decade covers the years 2010 to 2020 and will have 10 awardees and five special citations. 

The awarding ceremony for the 1st NCCA SUDI Awards will be livestreamed via NCCA’s official Facebook page and YouTube channel (@NCCAOfficial) in two parts on Aug. 21 and Aug. 28 at 7:00 p.m..

The award’s concept came from National Artist for Literature and former NCCA chairman, Dr. Virgilio Almario. NCCA’s Technical Working Group, chaired by Noel Ferrer, initiated the whole awarding process. The word “SUDI”, which is an Ilocano adjective meaning illustrious renowned, celebrated, or famous, was proposed by Dr. Felipe M. de Leon, Jr., a member of the technical working group and head of the NCCA National Committee on Music.

Aside from de Leon, the members of the Technical Working Group for this National Music Awards is also composed of National Artist for Music Ryan Cayabyab, Dinah Remolacio, Michelle Therese “Twinky’ Lagdameo, Mike Constantino, and Bayang Barrios. 

Under its current chairman, Arsenio “Nick” Lizaso, the NCCA is spearheading the realization of the SUDI Awards with the help of executive director Al Ryan S. Alejandre, deputy executive director Marichu G. Tellano, and supervising officer on administration Bernan Joseph R. Corpuz, through its Plan/Policy Formulation and Programming Division (P/PFPD) – Arts Section headed by Ferdinand Isleta.

A credible jury was tasked to review the body of work and/or significant contribution of the nominees’ that ultimately formed the 19 significant musical achievements that defined Philippine music during the years 2000 to 2019 while still adhering to the highest standards of excellence (in form and in content) and even in audience reception and patronage. 

In succeeding years, excellent and significant musical contributions (whether artist, musical piece, journal, music cultural worker, or music institution, but not limited to) shall be recognized triennially.  

Learn more about the NCCA SUDI National Music Awards and the list of awardees. Visit:

Topics: National Commission for Culture and the Arts , NCCA SUDI Awards , Virgilio Almario , Noel Ferrer , Ryan Cayabyab
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1