Liway’s humble win at The EDDYS 2019

Paraphrasing what Kip Oebanda said during his acceptance speech, he enunciated that their film is too small compared to the other films nominated in this year’s EDDYS, but the awards it received just proved that no film is too small for a big story that needs to be heard and seen.  

Liway, a film about a young boy growing up in a prison during Martial Law, emerged as the biggest winner during Sunday night’s Entertainment Editors’ Choice for Movies or The EDDYS held at the New Frontier Theater in Araneta Center in Cubao. 

Liway’s humble win  at The EDDYS 2019

Written and directed by Oebanda, the independent film walked home bagged the coveted Best Picture plum, Best Screenplay trophy, and Best Editing award. 

Liway’s humble win  at The EDDYS 2019
Best Actor winner Dingdong Dantes
In the acting category, Dingdong Dantes won Best Actor for his role in the movie Sid & Aya: Not A Love Story, while Kathryn Bernardo edged out veteran and seasoned actresses by winning the Best Actress trophy. 

“I’m happy to accept this award but it saddens me that I wasn’t able to work with Eddie Garcia,” Dingdong said during his acceptance speech. 

Liway’s humble win  at The EDDYS 2019
Sandaan Awardees
The Kapuso actor won over other A-list actors nominated including the legendary thespian, Paolo PascualChristian BablesPaolo ContisCarlo Aquino, and Daniel Padilla.

Liway’s humble win  at The EDDYS 2019
Ben & Ben receive the award for Best Original Theme Song. 
“I wasn’t able to experience the Eddie magic but because of the stories I’ve been hearing, I feel inspired. Yun ang dapat tularan ng bagong henerasyon ng mga aktor,” he carried on and dedicated the award to his parents and wife Marian Rivera and their kids.

Liway’s humble win  at The EDDYS 2019
EDDYS Film Icon Awardees 
Meanwhile, Arjo Atayde bagged Best Supporting Actor for his role in BuyBustMax Collins won Best Supporting Actress for Citizen Jake, and Joel Lamangan was named best director for the LGBT-themed movie starring Eddie Garcia entitled Rainbow’s Sunset.

Liway’s humble win  at The EDDYS 2019
The EDDYS 2019 host Korina Sanchez-Roxas with grand slam queen Lorna Tolentino.
The star-studded third edition of the EDDYS was powered by the performance of artists such as Kuh Ledesma, Ice Seguerra, Aicelle Santos, Gerald Santos, Rayver Cruz, Lara Maigue, Bituin Escalante, Rita Daniela, Hashtags’ Rayt Carreon, Jem Cubil and Andrea Babierra, Sean Oliver, Both of Us (BOU), RJ dela Fuente, Acapellago, and Raket Manila Dancers.

Liway’s humble win  at The EDDYS 2019
From left: Awards presenters Javi Benitez, Gazini Ganados, and Gino Roque.
It was also graced by beauty queens Patricia Magtanong (Binibining Pilipinas International 2019) and Gazini Ganados (Miss Universe Philippines 2019), personalities like former Quezon City mayor Herbert Bautista, former senator Jinggoy EstradaEric Quizon, Mayor Lani Mercado, Sen. Bong Revilla, and Rep. Alfred Vargas

The glitzy awards night celebrated the 100th year of Philippine Cinema in partnership with the Film Development Council of the Philippines led by its chairperson and CEO Liza Diño. It was hosted by Korina Sanchez-Roxas, produced by Echo Jham Entertainment, led by director Calvin Neria, and presented by Cignal . 

Below is the full list of awardees:

Best Picture: Liway

Best Director: Joel Lamangan

Best Actress: Kathryn Bernardo (The Hows of Us)

Best Actor: Dingdong Dantes (Sid & Aya)

Best Supporting Actor: Arjo Atayde (Buy Bust)

Best Supporting Actress: Max Collins (Citizen Jake)

Best Screenplay: Liway

Best Cinematography: Aurora

Best Visual Effects: Aurora

Best Musical Score: Bakwit Boys

Best Production Design: Goyo

Best Editing: Liway

Best Original Theme Song: Maybe The Night (Ben & Ben, Exes Baggage)

Best Sound: Bakwit Boys


Joe Quirino Award: Cristy Fermin

Manny Pichel Award: Ethel Ramos

Producer of the Year: Star Cinema

Lifetime Achievement Award: Elwood Perez 

Rising Producers’ Circle: Spring Films and T-Rex Entertainment

Posthumous Award: Dolphy

BeauteDerm Red Carpet Choice: Lorna Tolentino

Topics: Kip Oebanda , Entertainment Editors’ Choice for Movies , Dingdong Dantes , Kathryn Bernardo , Liway ,
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA