4th EDDYS to stream on FDCP Channel

The Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd) and Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) join forces anew for the fourth edition of The EDDYS (Entertainment Editors’ Choice) unfolding virtually on March 22.

For the third time, the FDCP through its chairperson and CEO Liza Diño gives full support to the editors’ group and its annual film awards.

The 4th EDDYS goes virtual this year, premiering on FDCP’s website and streamed on various platforms including the SPEEd Facebook Page and SPEEd members’ own pages and YouTube Channels.

The EDDYS Film Icons 2018 awardees (from right) Maricel Soriano, Nora Aunor, Charo Santos-Concio and Eddie Garcia with SPEEd President Ian Fariñas and Joseph Sonora, receiving the award on behalf of Susan Roces.
The FDCP Channel is “an exclusive, FDCP-managed platform that lets audiences enjoy quality local and international content online.”

Accessible worldwide, the FDCP Channel will stream The EDDYS 4, which also gives recognition to top-calibre work aired on various platforms during the time of the pandemic.

There will be 14 categories covering work released in 2020, including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actress and Best Actor.

Aside from the FDCP, also supporting the 4th edition of the Entertainment Editors’ Choice are Toktok (major sponsor), San Miguel Corp., Tiger Crackers, Smart Shot and Rep. Niña Taduran of the Partylist ACT-CIS.

Juancho Robles, managing partner of Chan Robles & Company, CPAs, once again takes on the auditing duties that had kept The Eddys’ integrity intact since the beginning.

On Monday, March 15, The EDDYS will release the list of nominees in the acting and technical categories.

As a special highlight, the 4th EDDYS will launch the Isah V. Red (IVR) Award in honor and memory of SPEEd’s founding president, Isah V. Red.

"This recognition is given to individuals like him — a dynamic and spirited renaissance man with a deep love for God, country and community — who beyond the realm of entertainment has so enriched and made a difference in the lives of many, in his most colorful, gregarious and inimitable way," SPEEd president Ian Fariñas said.

The first recipients of the IVR award are Senator Bong Revilla Jr., Angel Locsin, Kim Chiu, Ramon Ang, Rei Anicoche-Tan and Claire de Leon-Papa for their humanitarian efforts toward alleviating conditions of people adversely affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Another much-awaited part in this edition is the 2021 EDDYS Icon awards, to be conferred on entertainment personalities Gloria Sevilla, Ronaldo Valdez, Pilar Pilapil, Boots Anson-Rodrigo, Gina Pareño, Dante Rivero, Tommy Abuel, Caridad Sanchez, Joel Lamangan, and Ricky Lee.

Meanwhile, the EDDYS special awardees have been named as the following: TV-radio host-columnist Lolit Solis for the Joe Quirino Award; entertainment columnist Mario Bautista for the Manny Pichel Award Blacksheep Productions for the Rising Producers’ Circle; and The IdeaFirst Company as Producer of the Year.

Also, posthumous recognition will be given to Peque Gallaga, Tony Mabesa, Menggie Cobarrubias, Ramon Revilla, Sr., and Tony Ferrer.

SPEEd, through these uncertain times that changed the landscape of entertainment in various ways, believes that giving recognition to the best works of the year is one way to uplift filmmakers, producers, writers, actors and all those involved in creating quality Filipino film works that both entertain and inspire audiences across the country and the world.

SPEEd is a group of entertainment editors of major broadsheets and tabloids in the Philippines.

Topics: Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors , SPEEd , Film Development Council of the Philippines , FDCP , The EDDYS (Entertainment Editors’ Choice)
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA
Reopening: PH Economy on The Mend
Reopening: PH Economy on The Mend