ABS-CBN, DZMM shine at 4th Gems Awards

Leading media network ABS-CBN and DZMM Radyo Patrol 630 continue to have the trust and approval of the academic community after being named TV Station of the Year and Radio Station of the Year, respectively, for the fourth straight year at the 2019 Guild of Educators, Mentors, and Students (GEMS) Awards.

The Kapamilya network walked home bagged 23 trophies including Best TV Series (The General’s Daughter), Best TV Program-Drama/Investigative/Reality (Maalaala Mo Kaya), and Best TV Program-Entertainment/Variety (ASAP Natin ‘To).

ABS-CBN, DZMM shine at 4th Gems Awards
Dimples Romana with GEMS president Norman Mauro Llaguno
Angel Locsin led the list of winners from ABS-CBN, bagging the Natatanging Hiyas ng Sining sa Telebisyon award. Other Kapamilya stars that were recognized were Vice Ganda (Best TV Program Host-Entertainment/Variety for It’s Showtime), Dimples Romana (Best Actress for a TV Series for Kadenang Ginto), Jhong Hilario (Best Actor for a Single Performance in Ipaglaban Mo), Joanna Ampil (Best Actress for a Single Performance in MMK), Kit Thompson (Best Performance in a Supporting Role for Mea Culpa: Sino Ang May Sala), and Andrea Brillantes (Best Performance in a Supporting Role for Kadenang Ginto).

ABS-CBN, DZMM shine at 4th Gems Awards
Teen actress Andrea Brillantes (center) receives the award for Best Performance in a Supporting Role for ‘Kadenang Ginto.’
The network was also recognized in the film categories with Star Cinema picking up the Natatanging Hiyas ng Sining sa Pelikula award. The country’s top-grossing movie, Hello, Love, Goodbye, was also named Best Mainstream Film, while Cathy Garcia-Molina was hailed Best Mainstream Director.

Charo Santos-Concio was also honored as Best Supporting Actress for her performance in the hit horror movie, Eerie. Meanwhile, Cinema One Originals’ also bagged awards, including Natatanging Pelikulang Pangkasarian (Sila Sila), Best Indie Film (Metamorphosis), and Best Indie Film Director for Jose Enrique Tiglao (Metamorphosis). Cinema One is a cable channel under the ABS-CBN subsidiary Creative Programs Inc.

Completing the list of winners for the Kapamilya network are MOR 101.9 (Best FM Radio Station), DJ Popoy (Best Male Radio DJ), DZMM anchor Maresciel Yao for Usapang de Campanilla (Best Female Radio Broadcaster-Public Service), and ABS-CBN News icon Gus Abelgas (Best TV Program Host Drama/Investigative/Reality).

The Guild of Educators, Mentors, and Students (GEMS) Awards is composed of teachers, academic professionals, and students from prestigious academic institutions in the Philippines. It aims to recognize excellent projects and personalities in the field of television, film, radio, literature, and theater.

Topics: ABS-CBN , DZMM Radyo Patrol 630 , 2019 Guild of Educators , Mentors , and Students Awards
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA