1st ALTA Media Icon awards

The University of Perpetual Help System DALTA, in celebration of its 40th Founding Anniversary, recognized outstanding individuals, programs, and other entities in the field of mass media during its first ever ALTA Media Icon Awards, a Student’s Choice award-giving body, held on Dec. 11at Ernesto Palanca Crisostomo Hall, Perpetual Las Piñas Campus.

Best Male Personality for Radio (AM) Anthony Taberna (Dos Por Dos / DZMM 630)
    In a 1970s-inspired awards night, with the theme “The Perpetualite Rock: 40 Years of Rocking the Nation through Quality Education and Media Partnership”, awards were given to winners in different media categories – television, radio, print, film, advertising and public relations, social media, and recording. Special recognition were likewise given to media icons in the last 40 years or more in the industry – Tina Monzon – Palma Iconic Media Personality for Broadcast Journalism; Gloria Romero, Eddie Garcia, Vilma Santos, Tirso Cruz III, and Ricky Lee as Iconic Media Personalities for Film and Television.

Ricky Lee receiving his award with the officers of The University of Perpetual Help System DALTA
    Chairman of the Board and CEO and founder Dr. Bgen Antonio L. Tamayo said the ALTA Media Icon Awards aims to honor outstanding media programs, personalities and entities that contributed to the country’s social development and promoted Filipino values anchored on the Perpetualite philosophy of “Character Building is Nation Building”.

    The winners were chosen by college students of University of Perpetual Help - Las Piñas, the largest of all Perpetual DALTA campuses with a 10,000-strong college student population. A separate screening committee comprised of esteemed administrators and educators judged the nominees for the Media Icon awards.

Best Male Radio Personality (FM) Chris Tsuper (Tambalan / 90.7 Love Radio) Best Female Radio Personality (FM)  Nicole Hyala (Tambalan/ 90.7 Love Radio)
    The winners were awarded by UPHSD President, Anthony M. Tamayo; Co-Founder and Board of Director, Dr. Daisy M. Tamayo; and Board Secretary and UPHDMC President , Maj. Richard Tamayo.    



§  Best Magazine Show      I Juander (GMA News TV 11)  

§  Best Talk Show     Tapatan ni Tunying (ABS CBN 2)

§  Best Noontime Variety Show      Eat Bulaga (GMA 7)

§  Best Musical Variety Show     ASAP (ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Documentary Program      I-Witness (GMA 7)

§  Best Drama Series     Forevermore (ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Drama Anthology      Maalaala Mo Kaya (ABS-CBN 2)  

§  Best Comedy Program     Home Sweetie Home (ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best News Program     State of the Nation 

                    (GMA News TV 11)

§  Best Lifestyle Program     Ang Pinaka (GMA News TV 11)

§  Best Educational Program      Matanglawin (ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Reality/Talent  Show      The Voice PH (ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Public Service Program     Wish Ko Lang (GMA 7)

§  Best Game Show     Kapamilya Deal or No Deal 

                    (ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Morning Show     Umagang kay Ganda (ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Travel Show     Biyahe ni Drew (GMA News TV 11)

§  Best Youth-Oriented Show     Wansapanataym (ABS-CBN 2)


§  Best Film       The Trial (Star Cinema)

§  Best Child Performer (Film)     Miggs Cuaderno (Asintado)

§  Best Actor for Film     Coco Martin (Feng Shui 2)

§  Best Actress for Film     Kathryn Bernardo (She’s Dating the Gangster)


Best Female Recording Artist      Janella Salvador

Best Male Recording Artist     Bamboo

Best Music Video     “Ikaw”  by  Yeng Constantino

Song of the Year     “Sabado” by Eraserheads


§  Best Talk Show Host       Boy Abunda (The Bottomline / ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Male News Personality for TV     Atom Araullo (TV Patrol / ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Female News Personality for TV      Jessica Soho (State of the Nation / GMA News TV 11)

§  Best Actor for TV (Drama Role)      Coco Martin (Ikaw Lamang / ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Actress for TV (Drama Role)      Kim Chiu (Ikaw Lamang / ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Actor for TV (Comedy Role)     John Lloyd Cruz (Home Sweetie Home / ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Actress for TV (Comedy Role)      Toni Gonzaga (Home Sweetie Home / ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Child Actor (TV)     Zaijian Jaranilla (Hawak Kamay / ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Child Actress (TV)     Jana Agoncillo (Dream Dad/ ABS-CBN 2)

§  Most Promising Male Star     Enrique Gil

§  Most Promising Female Star     Janella Salvador

§  Best Love Team       LizQuen (Liza Soberano and Enrique Gil)

§  Most Influential Male TV Personality      Daniel Padilla

§  Most Influential Female TV Personality     Sarah Geronimo

§  Best Public Service Program Host     Ted Failon (Failon Ngayon / ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Documentary Program Host     Kara David (I-Witness / GMA 7)

§  Best Educational Show Host      Kim Atienza (Matanglawin / ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Magazine Show Host     Jessica Soho (Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho / GMA 7)

§  Best Morning Show Host       Atom Araullo (Umagang Kay Ganda / ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Lifestyle Show Host       Rovilson Fernandez (Ang Pinaka / GMA News TV 11)

§  Best Reality Show Host     Toni Gonzaga (Pinoy Big Brother / ABS-CBN 2)

§  Best Travel Show Host     Drew Arellano (Byahe ni Drew / GMA News TV 11)

§  Best Game Show Host     Luis Manzano (Kapamilya Deal or No Deal / ABS-CBN)


§  Best Radio Station (AM)     DZMM 630

§  Best Radio Station (FM)       90.7 Love Radio

§  Best Male Personality for Radio (AM)      Anthony Taberna (Dos Por Dos / DZMM 630)

§  Best Female Radio Personality (AM)      Karen Davila (Pasada Sais Trenta / DZMM 630)

§  Best Male Radio Personality (FM)      Chris Tsuper (Tambalan / 90.7 Love Radio)

§  Best Female Radio Personality (FM)      Nicole Hyala (Tambalan/ 90.7 Love Radio)

§  Best Radio Public Service Program     Failon Ngayon (DZMM Radyo Patrol 630)

§  Best Radio Music Program     Tambalan (90.7 Love Radio)


Topics: 1st alta media icon awards
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Working Pillars of the House